Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Here’s to you Mr. E…

on June 15, 2012

“I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry, He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.  He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the Lord.” Psalm 40:1-3

Waiting patiently on the Lord, in my opinion, refines our character.  When we wait on the Lord we put our sights completely on Him.  We trust that He will carve out a path for us to follow.  A path that is life giving and full of the Spirit.  Waiting can be difficult, yet, it is so very rewarding. My husband Rick has learned to wait patiently on the Lord.  This year has been a year of complete trust and surrender.  Rick will finish his first year of teaching today. He did it!  And, in a few weeks the postman will deliver a five year teaching license.  He is official!

This past year has offered a tremendous amount of growth for our entire family.  We have learned to live below our means.  We have learned to get up before day break.  We have learned to make lunches, do lesson plans, grade tests and care for really tough kids.  Rick has brought, in spirit, all of his kids home.  We have prayed for their trials and tribulations.  We have rejoiced in their accomplishments.  We have giggled at the absurdity of adolescence; all the while trusting in our Lord, Jesus Christ, to meet us at every new challenge.  We have surrendered this adventure to the Lord.  We have committed to following His will for our family.

The complete and absolute trust we have in the Lord is highlighted in Psalm 40; the verse that has encouraged Rick through this journey of new adventure and refinement.  Since he was a young man his heart’s desire has been to teach.  The Lord answered that cry.  He put Rick’s feet on a path toward achieving his goal.  The journey has not always been easy or smooth but it has always been in the will of the Lord.  He sees us through the difficult times.  Waiting on Him brings refinement.  He gives us what we can handle as He sees fit.  This year has taught us to be patient.  This year has brought us closer together.  This year has been the best year of our marriage.  I cannot sing praises enough to the Lord.

I am so proud of my husband and his blind faith.  He has shown me that it is in Christ we put all of our HOPE. He has shown me how to have supreme character in times of want.  He has shown me that any goal, dream, desire I have can be accomplished when God is in control.  I have also learned to be patient…rather I am learning (this one is lifelong for me!)  I have learned from my husband that it takes a family bound together in love to achieve the goals of one.  I have learned that all we need the Lord will provide and it is good…always.

Our children have seen the hard work and dedication their father has had working toward his goal.  They have seen a father who trusts fully and deliberately in the Lord.  What a gift! The gift of faith.

This year has been so very different than any other.  Our strength is in the Lord.  I praise Him for a contract signed for next year.  I thank Him for the opportunity to see my husband grow in ways beyond my imagination.  I thank Him for the joy that has threaded through the good days as well as the trying times.  He is sovereign and perfect.  He sets our feet on a rock.  He puts us exactly where we need to be so that we can make the biggest difference for His kingdom.   Although Rick is not in a Christian school, his actions and character have shone brightly the light of Christ to a class of kids who, at the beginning of the year, had very little hope.

Praise God and thank you for the man I get to love the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 550 other followers

