Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Seeking His face

on January 3, 2012

Where is your quiet spot? I didn’t have one. I live in a lovely home with plenty of spots…but nothing ever struck me as a place to meet with God. I had never really thought about it until recently. I really didn’t have to. I am a runner, WAS a runner. I used to run everyday and spend time with the Lord in sweet communion. I don’t run anymore. It’s been a long time since I laced up my shoes. I am determined to become a walker…in the meantime I write.

It was difficult those first weeks and months when I became a ‘non-runner’. I had no idea where to find the Lord. I realized that I was the one who was hiding…not Him. That’s a lonesome place to be.

I was suffocated by the idea that I just had no clue how to meet Him- where He was…or rather, invite Him to where I was.

I was pressing-in the only way I knew how to…maybe I wasn’t pressing in enough…I wasn’t. I had become complacent in my Christianity.

I attend church; I serve; I formally study the Bible; I pray.

“These people honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. They worship me in vain; their teachings are but rules taught by men.” Matthew 15:8-9

But, to noavail, I was still seeking. I realized that I was kind of riding along blissfully on my “I am a good Christian” train…too ignorant to understnd that I will never be a good-enough Christian. We are constantly pursuing His image. We will only be good enough when we reach the gates of Heaven. We will be made new.

Well, the only way I could really think to find Him was to SEEK Him. I had to accept that, while I thought I was doing that best I could as a Christian, I was falling deseperatly short. Really. It is quite amazing what kind of Christians we are when we take our ego out of it…it’s sobering.

So, I seek…or sought. It was during KPC’s performance of Handel’s Messiah. I got it! I had to repent for my complacency. I had to pray the ‘Sinner’s Prayer’. So I did. I felt reborn…born again. I felt light again. I could physically feel the weight of the world lifting off my shoulders. “For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:29 It is ever so light…He will carry it for us…always.

So, in my effort to declutter, live with what I have and realize my beauty in Christ, I found a quiet spot to meet God. It’s really not about seeking out a space but seeking out the ONE who loves us most!

I encourage anyone who is new to Christ or to those who have been clothed in His mercies for a lifetime, to seek Him. Give of yourself sacraficially…commiting to LOVE Him greater than you could ever phathom!

“Glory in His holy name; Let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice. Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always.”

I offer to you my prayer…

Lord, I am completely unworthy of your mercies. I ask you to fill my heart with your Spirit. I ask your forgiveness Lord for my transgressions, those that I am aware of as well as those I am not. I accept Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior. I ask that You guide my steps in Your will. In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

