Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

In my own little world…

on January 27, 2012

“I tell you the truth, whoever accepts anyone I send accepts me; and whoever accepts me accepts the one who sent me.” John 13:20

“Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it”. Hebrews 13:2

Do you pass the man on the corner by? Is he a nuisance to you as you sit in your warm car headed to work or school or the store or coffee with friends? Does he make you feel uncomfortable and vulnerable as you sit securely waiting for the light to change? Do you look at him with the eyes of God, or do you condemn him with the eyes of the world? Have you ever stopped to think that he has been placed on that corner for a purpose…the purpose of testing your faith? The Lord commands us to love our brothers…not just the clean and presentable brothers, but the dirty and lost brothers. God gives us moments to exercise his commandments. He never tempts us, that is the work of the devil, but he tests us. He gives us challenges to love. When we love the unlovable, the dirty, the homeless, the imprisoned…we are showing our love for God.

Dear Heavenly Father,
I praise you for the opportunities you give me daily to show love. You remind me to love those who are hard to love, for I know there are more moments that I am unlovable and you have sent others to love me. I praise you for the resources you have given me so that I may offer help to those who are less fortunate. Lord, I praise you for each moment you stretch my resolve and challenge me to look at the world through Your eyes and not my own.
Please forgive me when I have passed you by. Please forgive me when I was too proud or busy or preoccupied to pray with a friend. Please forgive me when I have used your resources to be self-serving and not generous.

I pray that you would give me an extra measure of kindness and gentleness so that the angels you have placed on my path would delight in my actions and rejoice in Your love that flows through me. Let me be a vessel of love. Help me to lavish your love on the angels on the corner. I pray that I am always prepared to accept your challenges. I pray these things in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

