Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

The truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth…

on February 17, 2012

“Every word of God is flawless; he is a shield for those who take refuge in him. Do not add to his words, or he will rebuke you and prove you a liar.” Proverbs 30:5-6

I was asked by a friend, who recently accepted Jesus as her Lord and Savior, if the words of the Old Testament are accurate and true? She went on to explain that a friend of hers, who is a Christian, said that the Old Testament was not true because it was written so long ago, to which I replied “The entire Bible is the Word of God.” It’s true, the entire Bible is true. As Christians the Bible is our handbook; our guide. It is imperative that we not take liberty with the Word. We mustn’t be “New Testament” believers. If we are to believe in the sovereignty of God through the blood of Jesus, then we must trust the sovereignty of the God of Abraham and Moses, David and Daniel, Ruth and Esther. The Word is truth. When we share the truth of God it is essential that we seek the Holy Spirit…for the Holy Spirit is the Spirit of Truth. We have to rely on God and not on ourselves. We tend to add to and take away from the Truth. We tend to make the Word fit our lives as opposed to letting our lives fit the Word. When we live in the Word…seeking the Truth…submitting to the grace and mercy of the Lord, then and only then, will we be appropriate stewards of God’s heart.

Dear Heavenly Father,
You are the creator and perfector of our faith. Your word is sovereign and real and true. The ultimate TRUTH. I praise You that I do not have to rely on my own understanding or knowledge, and that You have so graciously put into words the blueprint for my life.
Please forgive me when I turn away from Your Truth, when I feel convicted by the lies of my heart.

Lord, please forgive me when I take liberty with Your heart…Your Word. Please forgive me when I am not bold enough to rebuke those around me who take liberty with the Truth.

Lord, You are perfect in all ways. You spell out, so understandably, the path you desire for our lives. Thank you, O gracious and loving God. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

One response to “The truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth…

  1. […] The truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth… (sunshinelittleone.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

