Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Get back up…

on February 18, 2012

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”
Psalm 73:26

I stumbled. In my efforts to follow a fast, I stumbled. As I was preparing that which caused me to fall short of my promise, I knew exactly what I was doing. I was consciously sinning. I was talking my way out of obedience and in to self-indulgence. My desires became more important than my efforts to keep my promise of fasting to the Lord. I repented as I continued to eat the delicious brownie sundae I had made. I do that often; succumb to my own desires instead of to the will of the Lord. I fall short…time and time again. I make lofty promises to the Lord. Imagine if He did that to me. I hold Him to the highest standard possible, because His word and His promises are true. He never falls short. He is always honest. I need to be like Him. How will the world know my Father if I am busy rebelling against Him? How will those who are without the Lord know how important He is to me if I am unfaithful to Him? How can I profess my obedience when I follow the desires of my heart and not His will?
I finished my sundae and repented. It’s not about the food. It’s about my word and how it was broken. After 12 days of obedience I decided I was deserving. Imagine if Jesus had thought that when tempted by the devil to turn rocks into bread as He fasted for 40 days. I shudder to think where we would be if Jesus fell into temptation. I praise the Lord for steady resolve and obedience. Our faith is not dictated by legalism, but by grace. Our path to Heaven is through the accepting of Jesus Christ on the cross not the amount of days we go without chocolate or the amount of money we put in the offering plate or the number of times we pray in a day. That’s the beauty of Christian faith, knowing that by grace-not works- we are saved.
I will continue to fast. I have nine days left of the promise I made to the Lord. He has blessed me in ways far greater than I could have ever imagined. I have heard Him in my soul. He has answered prayers. He has lavished me in His love in ways I never fathomed. He is the God of love and peace and joy. His desire for my life is to be fully immersed in Him. I denied myself that luxury last night…and all the other times I have willfully sinned against the one who washed me clean. I will bask in His mercy and grace today…for His mercies are new each day. “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” Lamentations 3:23

Dear Father God,
Thank you for Your forgiveness and mercy and grace…they sustain me. I offer praise to you O Lord for Your compassion and love. You lavish me in Your will, keeping in me a tender conscience and a desire to please You. I am reminded of my inability to maintain a sinless life, but I am grateful for the grace you pour into me…as undeserving as I am.
Lord, I humbly ask Your forgiveness for my broken promise is a lie told to Your ear. You gently rebuke me in my Spirit; You bring to mind my need for a Savior to wash me clean of my sin-nature.
Thank you sweet and gracious, God. Thank you for loving me and training me and keeping me firmly planted in Your word. You are the creator of Heaven and Earth, yet Your greatest desire is my heart. I am humbled, I am Yours. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

2 responses to “Get back up…

  1. […] Get back up… (sunshinelittleone.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

