Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

With this ring….

on February 23, 2012

“Wives, submit to your husbands as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. Now as the church submits to Christ, as also wives should submit to their husbands in everything. Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself.” Ephesians 5:22-28

I am not great at submitting to my husband…he is very good at loving me. I tend to be extremely willful; this does not make for harmony. I like my ideas and opinions…I tend rest in them, even when they go against the opinions of my husband-the ones that perhaps at times I should yield to. When I am submissive our life has a cadence of righteousness…we are following God’s plan for marriage. I get embroiled in my own self-righteousness and have trouble following my husband’s lead. To be submissive is not letting your husband lead you into danger or harm or anything ungodly…but rather to yield to his God-given authority and dominion over the family. God created men and women so very different. He created us to be compliments to one another. Both lives play very important roles in the marriage. Just as Christ loves the church…so should a husband love his wife and a wife should yield and submit to the authority of her husband. When we go against the design, our married lives can become entangled in frustration and discontent. Today…this second day of lent, I will make a prayerful commitment to follow my husband’s lead, acting as his helpmate…loving him with God’s heart, for the Lord created us to love each other!
Dear God,
Thank you so much for your design to love and honor one another. Thank you for the gift of marriage.
I pray that you would forgive me as you forgave Eve. Forgive me when my heart is hardened to my husband’s desires. Forgive us both when we do not live up to Your word.
Thank you, Lord for my dear husband. Thank you for creating us for each other. Time of trial bring us closer together…allowing us to love with Your heart and not our own. I pray that I am able to be like Sarah and submit to You first and then to my husband. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

2 responses to “With this ring….

  1. Bijee says:

    This is one of my favorite scriptures. I have it highlighted. This is awesome that you a being cognizant of this and making an effort to be better in this area. This is how true growth happens. Your husband is lucky to have a wife that is trying to apply biblical principals to marriage. Be blessed!

    • Thank you! I struggle with this daily..I am strongwilled and I’ll just say it…stubborn! I pray that the Lord infuses me with His will for my husband! I love the man dearly and he completes me…but sometimes….. Be blessed!! Thank you for your comment. I am following your blog..it’s beautiful! So rich with knowledge and wisdom!

Leave a Reply

