Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Do you really want to know?

on March 1, 2012

“And the gospel of the kingdom will be preached in the whole world as a testimony to all nations, and then the end will come.” Matthew 24:14

The end will come. We wait for the end in anticipation like we do for the end of a movie or book, imaging from the contents of our lives what the end will really be like.

Does it matter? I mean, yes it matters that the end will come…but it doesn’t much matter when. It will happen at the perfect time. I have no way of preparing other than to rest completely and daily in the heart of Jesus. Only the Father knows when the end will come. Even the Son is unaware. The angels have no idea. And yet, there are those among us that profess to know the exact moment the end will come. This is so typical of humans- trying to usurp the Lord’s will. It happens all the time. We want God to act in our timing; fit into our schedules; rule the way we would. Silly. Arrogant. We all do it. We fall short of grace.

Yes, the end is coming. Instead of anticipating it with worry and lost sleep; losing the moments of today; I will live as though today is the day.

I find joy in not knowing when He will come. I find joy and comfort in knowing that my only obligation, while waiting, is to live fully in Christ. Doing unto others. Loving my brother. Loving my God. Being a steward of His Word. His Love. His Heart. I will live today to the fullest and pray that when the end does come I will have lived my life in such a way that the Lord will bless me and say “Well done good and faithful servant.”

Lord,
That day is so highly anticipated. The day we see you coming from the clouds. O! How we will delight in the brilliance of your light. Until that time, Jesus, help us to live our faith out loud. Help us to not be consumed by the end, forgetting to live in the present.

Please forgive me Father when I desire my will to be Yours. Your will is perfect and pleasing.

Thank you, Lord, that you have promised a New Jerusalem. How we look forward to eternity!
Keep our eyes focused on you and the good works of our faith.

In Jesus’ name. Amen.

One response to “Do you really want to know?

  1. Your crazy friend, Gina : ) says:

    Thanks so much for the excellent reminder. Such an encouragement and so true…”thy kingdom come, thy will be done”. Keep on keepin’ on!!!

Leave a Reply

