Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

In the twinkling of an eye…

on March 9, 2012

“Listen, I tell you a mystery: We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed-In a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed. 1 Corinthians 15:51-52

In a twinkling of an eye He will come. Oh blessed day!

I recently asked my husband if he thinks about the coming of the Lord. He said yes. I asked him if he thinks about it daily…really thinks about Jesus coming. He said yes. I asked him if he thinks about Jesus coming today. He said yes. That explains a lot about my husband. He lives his life as though the Lord is coming to snatch us home to heaven. He makes an effort to live in the Lord, knowing that His impending return could happen at any time…in a twinkling of an eye.

I admire how my husband lives. He lives fully. He loves God and lets Him direct his path. He delights in the many blessings of the Lord, marveling at how He lavishes us in grace and mercy. My husband is a man of integrity and honesty…ever loving and kind. He personifies the commands: ‘Love your brother.’ And ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart, mind, soul and strength.’ So it was really no surprise to learn that he lives his life as though Jesus is coming…today. He is prepared. He spends his days glorifying and worshiping the Lord. No, he doesn’t spend all his days on his knees singing songs of praise. But, his life is a song to the Lord. He worships the Lord by loving me and our children very well; he worships by giving his all at work and earning an income to provide food and clothes and shelter; he worships the Lord by making sure our home is safe and our cars are in repair. He does everything to the glory of the Lord. He is waiting on Jesus, and in the meantime, he does his part to live a noble and upright life, pleasing to the Lord. What a blessing it is to be married to and share my life with a man of such Godly character.

So, when the day does come, my sweet husband will be prepared to meet his Creator. Are you? Am I?

Dear Father God,
O! To be in that moment when You will sound Your trumpet from heaven. To know that You will snatch us from the world to live with You and dwell among the angels praising and worshiping You for eternity. To see you face to face. Glory day!
Father, please forgive me for living in the dark. Please forgive me for not preparing my heart for your return. I pray that I may live fully in You so that Your return does not catch me off guard.
Thank you Lord that You give us Your Word to keep us prepared! You are perfect and wondrous. O! how I delight in You. Come, Lord Jesus, come! In His holy name, Amen!

Leave a Reply

