Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

I shared with my sweet lady shepherds today…

on March 20, 2012

If you know me, you know that I absolutely adore my husband. I have said it before and I know I will say it again…we were created for one another. We are perfectly suited…such that my head nestles neatly under his chin. That is my absolute favorite place in the world to be. I feel like I am shielded from the world and all its vial enticements. I think he likes it too that I fit so well. I hear a sigh of breath leave his body when he rests his head atop of mine. It is almost as though he can rest the weight of all he carries. I am blessed to think that I can offer that kind of comfort. A place of refuge from the world spinning out of control around us.

Ours is a tale of literal love at first sight. The very moment I met him, my heart skipped and I imagined that he would be the kind of husband who would always love me and care for me and be kind to me. Until I met Rick, I had a knack for attracting men who would break my heart. It was like a bait and switch. They would woo me with their charm and charisma and then turn into wretches…or maybe I was baiting and switching. Before Christ, before Rick…I was a wretch. I often think of the many friends I have and wonder if without Christ they would even entertain the thought of friendship with me…probably not. But, Christ redeems everything for His glory. Including and most especially a young lady searching and seeking a way off of her perpetual downward spiral. In walks my sweet husband.

Yes, as I said it was love at first sight. Rick felt it too…the best way my practical husband would perceive “love at first sight”. While I tend to dive in head first, Rick is very good at taking his time when deciding big things like, say, a future. He makes thoughtful and discerning decisions. I make decisions on the fly. We are very different…yet our vision for the life God has blessed us with is the same. The exact same.

We are passionate about our marriage. We understand the very particular order the Lord has planned for us. We understand that at the head of our marriage, our home, our family is God…Jesus…the Holy Spirit. We embrace that our commitment to one another comes next. God-Spouse…I love the design of hierarchy in relationships…it gives me a perfect excuse to lavish my husband in love and care for him without apology.
Ephesians 5:22 reminds me that I am to submit to my husband as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.”

Knowing that God intends for me submit to my husband has always been a sticking point. God knows. It’s a constant conversation…constant. I have had an incredibly difficult time with the notion of submission. Notion..that’s what it was for some time…a sweet notion. An idea fit for June Cleaver in 1957.

I guess what I was missing from the definition was that submission does not mean push-over or less than, it simply means that while he leads, I am to follow. That sounds fitting. Follow. Well, I would follow this man to the ends of the earth, why then wouldn’t I follow his lead through life? I am a work in progress. It wasn’t until recently that I understood the practical applications of submission. God changed my heart, as He always does. He opened my eyes to the blessing of being a blessing, to the man I am created to love. Studying the book of Genesis was paramount to my understanding. I learned about the beauty of a marriage rooted in the will of God. Abraham and Sarah, in my opinion, set a beautiful precedent. While Abraham willfully submits to the Lord, Sarah doesn’t consult God or her husband. She, is willfully independent. But her heart changes, the Lord softens her. I get it. Until recently…very recently I too had a really difficult time consulting my husband. I was a pro at praying for God to change my husband’s heart to see my cause, my wants, my desires…never thinking or praying for my own change of heart. My husband is profoundly patient. He must know in his Spirit that the Lord will redeem my heart. “The righteous will live by faith.” My husband lives by faith that he and I were divinely created and that the Lord will change both of our hearts so that we may live in harmonious matrimony. He loves me. He is obedient to follow the Lord’s command to love me “just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her.”

Leave a Reply

