Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

I have all I need…

on March 26, 2012

“Lord, you have assigned me my portion and my cup; you have made my lot secure.  The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance.” Psalm 16:5-6

“Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.” Habakkuk 3:17-18

 

It is right to give thanks and praise to the Lord in all circumstances, even in times of want (and plenty). Everything I have comes from the Lord.

I remember years ago, before I was living for Christ, I brought a tray of desserts to a neighbor.  I had hosted a play date at my home for my children and realized that I had an abundance of sweets.  I called my neighbor to ask her if she would like them for her family.  She immediately praised the Lord.  She called out to God in thanksgiving.  She told me that her grocery budget had been spent and that she was hoping to have dessert for her family that night, however, her cupboards were bear and her trip to the store wasn’t until much later that week.   She praised God for answering her prayer.  I stood dumbfounded.  Why would God care if a family had dessert…doesn’t He have greater things to do than worry about dessert?  No.  He doesn’t worry about dessert, but He does care about His children.

He blesses those who bless Him and live in His glory.  His blessings are an opportunity for us to exalt Him and sing His praises.  He blesses us so that we may share His magnificence with others.  He is faithful in showering us in expected favor.

We live in a society that is obese in its abundance.  We want more and more.  We fill our homes, our bodies, our schedules with stuff.  Filling us up so much that we are starving.  I have lived that life…wanting more, never being satiated.  I have lived blinded by the glut.  As my walk with the Lord matures I am realizing the importance of being satisfied with Him and all that He pours into me.  He gives me my portion. He gives me what He feels I am able to carry and care for.  I will rejoice in His favor and blessings.  I am learning to seek Him when I feel that I need to be filled.  I am learning to seek Him when I want to indulge the desire to have more things, food, money.  I am learning that the only way to be truly full and satisfied is to live abundantly in Him, asking Him to fill me to empty again so that I may be a steward of His goodness and provision.

Will you chose to let go of all that binds you and live abundantly in Him?

Lord,
Please show me your mercy that I may turn my desires to the temporal things of this world and live for all that is eternal.  Please help me to not be defined by what I have but by Who I serve.

In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One response to “I have all I need…

  1. […] I have all I need… (sunshinelittleone.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

