Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Eve, Eve, Eve…

on March 27, 2012

“Wives, in the same way submit yourselves to your own husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives, when they see the purity and reverence of your lives.  Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.  For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to adorn themselves. They submitted themselves to their own husbands, like Sarah, who obeyed Abraham and called him her lord. You are her daughters if you do what is right and do not give way to fear.
Husbands, in the same way be considerate as you live with your wives, and treat them with respect as the weaker partner and as heirs with you of the gracious gift of life, so that nothing will hinder your prayers.”  1Peter3:1-7

 

I need to commit this passage of scripture to memory and to my life.  I have come to realize that I am not always a fine 1Peter3 wife.  I am REALLY inept at following authority.  I AM A REBEL.  The moment my sweet husband starts to offer direction for our lives, I come at him as though he is taking my world away.  I have such a difficult time submitting to his authority.  I think my greatest challenge is listening.  Perhaps I should apply the “Be still and know that I am” practice to my marriage.  Not only being still to listen to the Lord, but also to my husband.  I need to resist the urge to dominate every conversation, idea and thought that my husband has.  I need to stop being obstinate.  I need to yield to the God-given authority of my husband.

Here’s the break down…I am married to a man who cherishes me and the life we have together.  He honors our marriage with grace.  He is generous, stable, loving and without a doubt one of the wisest men I know.  Then why do I have such a difficult time yielding to his authority?  It was Eve.  She set the precedent for us to follow…she ate the Fruit.  She found out what we never should have known.  She brought the wrath of God down on all of us…she was NOT a 1Peter3 wife.  She encouraged her husband to disobey God.   I would venture to guess that Eve was like me.  She was probably kind and loving to Adam.  She most likely was a great helpmate…as she was created to be.  However, she was rebellious by nature (like me) and she, like me, thought she knew better than her husband and well, even God.  Oh, Eve!

So, as I was heading to bed last night and my wise  husband encouraged me to read 1Peter3 (really to highlight the struggles of a friend), it dawned on me that I have some work to do!  I have said it before: I would follow this man to the ends of the earth, then why not follow his lead through life?

Here is my prayer (for myself and all those other wives striving to be a 1Peter3 woman)…

Dear Lord,

You have given me life.  You are fully aware of my sin nature and the difficulty I have submitting to my husband.  But that is the glory of You, Lord.  You know this about me and you love me all the same.  Just as Rick loves me.  I give you praise and thanksgiving for a Godly husband.  I thank you that all I have to do is ask and you will change my heart.   You will create in me a Spirit of Godly submission, to You and Rick.  Thank you, God.  I pray that all the days of my life I grow into the wife you desire for Rick.  I am confident that you created us for each other.  I am blessed by our union.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

One response to “Eve, Eve, Eve…

  1. […] Eve, Eve, Eve… (sunshinelittleone.wordpress.com) Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in 1 Peter, Modeling Christ and the Bride and tagged Bride, Father God, husbands, identity, Jesus, marriage, Peter, wives by JasonMcIntyre55. Bookmark the permalink. […]

Leave a Reply

