Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Drink from His goodness…

on March 31, 2012

“Put your sword away!  Shall I not drink the cup the Father has given me?” John 18:11

 

We often think that the ‘cup’ from the Father is full of joyous blessing. The ‘cup’ contains the very essence of what our lives hold.

When I think about the contents of my cup I am encouraged by the Father because He has filled it.  The contents make up the life I live.  There are times my cup overflows with sweetness and joy and I am filled with delight.  Other times my cup is brimming with the trials of this world.  The Lord allows it all.  He pours into us what we are capable, in His strength, of handling.  There is not one moment in my life that I do not trust that the Lord is perfect and sovereign.  I may stumble in my thinking…I may pause in my trust.  But, when it is all said and done, I trust the Lord.

He filled the cup of Jesus with the suffering and sacrifice of the Cross. He prepared His Son.  Jesus accepted the Will of God.  Jesus knew that the contents of His ‘cup’ would bring eternal life to the world…if we believe.

Whether your ‘cup’ is abundant with sweetness or bitter with trial; give thanks at all times to the Lord, Jesus Christ.  The Father has prepared away for you.  He has opened the gates of Heaven that you may rest in eternal bliss.  Take your ‘cup’ and drink in the sovereignty of Christ.

 

Father, thank you for the cup of my life.

Thank you for filling me to overflowing to empty me again and again in Your perfect will.

In Jesus’ name, Amen.

3 responses to “Drink from His goodness…

  1. Kelly says:

    love your way of looking at this…both the good and the bad and being thankful for it all! Blessings to you my sweet friend.

  2. […] Drink from His goodness… (sunshinelittleone.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

