Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Praise to the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ

on April 4, 2012

“Be still before the Lord, all mankind, because he has roused himself from his holy dwelling place.” Zechariah 2:13

I have a relationship with the Son because of the Father.  As a man, He came to earth so that the promise to Abraham would be fulfilled.  The coming of Jesus, the Messiah, has fulfilled that promise.   Without the sacrifice on the Cross, our relationship with God would be as it was in the Old Testament.  There would be wrath and judgment.

Lord Jesus Christ came to earth as a humble babe in a manger, born to a Virgin and a poor earthly father.  I assume, since he was perfect and sinless,  He was probably a pretty obedient child.

At age twelve He was left behind in Jerusalem where His family had celebrated the Feast of Passover.  After a great deal of searching among friends, and  family, His parents returned to Jerusalem they found Him among the teachers in the temple courts.  He was listening and asking questions.  His profound understanding of the teachings amazed those around Him.  When His mother found Him she was shaken and worried as any mother would be.  Her Son replies, “Why were you searching for me? Didn’t you know I had to be in my Father’s house.” Luke2:49

From here on we see Jesus grow into a man in favor with God and men.  Jesus spent the next several years of His life, until His crucifixion, spreading the Gospel message.  The GOOD NEWS that through Him all mankind will see God’s salvation.

Through Him I have God’s salvation.  Through Jesus, I am able to approach the Almighty God.  I am able to approach in prayer and petition and He hears me.  The sacrifice on the Cross bought my relationship with God…directly. I am held in the palm of the Father’s hand because the Son was so very obedient.  My sins were washed away and my heart and Spirit have been ransomed.  He has filled me with His joy.  God is abundant in my life.  I do not fear Him the way my spiritual ancestors did.  I come to Him with confidence that He knows my every need and will answer my every prayer in His will.  He does this because I come to Him through the Lamb…the sacrificial Lamb, Jesus Christ, who bore the shame of my sin so that I may be one with the Father.
Dear Jesus,

May my life be an offering of gratitude for the sacrifice you made for me.  I have no other desire than to live according to Your will.  Please forgive me when I am too proud or confident in my own ability to come to the Father.  Forgive me when I neglect to honor You and the mighty gift of salvation you have bestowed upon me.  May I walk in righteousness.  I pray I spend my life striving to be holy and blameless.

I pray for mercy and grace upon myself and those who are distant from You that they would have a change of heart and turn their face from sin to YOU.   I pray these things in Your mighty Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

