Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

In all things give thanks…

on April 10, 2012

“For everything God created is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving, because it is consecrated by the word of God and prayer.” 1Timothy4:4-5

I wonder sometimes about my lot in life.  The blessings I humbly receive from the Lord.  I think about the person I was before; yearning and aching for the temporal desires of the world.  Things. Stuff. Perishables.  I spent so many of my days obsessing about the things I didn’t have instead of singing praise for what I do have.  When I began to realize that wanting more was keeping me from living the life I currently have, I desired the eternal.

In January, I declared that as a family we would only spend money on necessities.  And while I was initially unrealistic about our goals, as a family we have come achieved many.  We are learning to be prayerful and thankful for everything we have.  We live in a very disposable culture.  When we tire of something we buy something new.  It becomes exhausting.  Deciding to only by what we need has given us a great deal of liberty.  We made the decision to make experiences a necessity.  It’s important for our children to experience the delights of childhood.  We make concessions in other areas.  Instead of embarking on the dollar bins at Target, we chose to shop at other stores. First the first time in several years, my husband and I make times for dates-essential to marriage.  We aren’t extravagant…we are realistic.  We must be responsible with the resources the Lord has provided.  We have asked the Lord to fill us with His self-control.  When we rely on Him, life becomes a great deal more manageable.

Living life with the Lord gives me a great deal of peace.  When I need an extra measure of grace or patience or peace or (even) love I know the Lord is with me.  I am comforted to know that as I live out my day and pray continually He is with me…always.  I am perpetually grateful.  The Lord guides me through every circumstance. With Him I am able to be excellent in everything I do.  But I must fully rely on Him; on my own I am incapable of anything other than ash.  I give him thanks daily.  In thanksgiving I offer Him worship and praise.  Life is glorious as I live in Him.

Father,
Thank you for all you pour into me.  Thank you for the undeserved blessings, grace and mercy.  In You I delight.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

I recommend One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp.  I encourage you to read her blog…AHolyExperience.com

One response to “In all things give thanks…

  1. Stephanie says:

    Wow, perfect timing for me to read this post. God has really been speaking to me lately about contentment and the joy that it brings. Thank you for your honesty.

Leave a Reply

