Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Do not embitter your children…

on April 16, 2012

Rules for Christian Households
“Wives, submit to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord.
Husbands, love your wives and do not be harsh with them.
Children, obey your parents in everything, for this pleases the Lord.
Fathers, do not embitter your children, or they will become discouraged.” Colossians 3:18-21

I am learning to submit to my husband as is fitting to the Lord.  My husband has always loved me and is never harsh with me…it’s not in his nature.  He is a kind and gentle man.  My children are pretty good at obeying…they are after all four and seven.  Their nature is to sin.  Now…do not embitter your children; this is difficult for me.  I grew up in a home based not on Christ but on the unachievable desire to reach perfection in everything.  I have carried those absurd tendencies into my own family of four.  I try so hard to be encouraging, but some days I simply fall short.

My parents were well intentioned, but we spent a lot of time yelling and huffing and just being embroiled in frustration.  I have unpacked that baggage in the closets of the family I share with my husband.  I am really good at getting really agitated when things don’t go my way.  I like to think it comes from years spent as an only child and always getting what I perceived as my own way…but, really it’s just a matter of living outside of God’s word.  It doesn’t really matter what my family of origin was, I am a member of God’s family, and therefore I should be following the rules of Christian Households.  I need to live in the WORD always.

We just finished a fabulous week of Spring Break.  The kids and Rick were off and we all enjoyed the company of one another.  We didn’t cruise or travel; and considering we live less than ten miles from the beach, we didn’t even wade in the water.  We simply spent time at our home.  Being with each other.  Pretty primitive, especially in a day and age when some parents of my generation feel like each day has to be a complete celebration, exhausting bank accounts to satisfy what we think will fill our children’s desires.  We have done that…lavished our children in ways our parents never did, and it’s not because we have more than our parents, rather we are trying desperately not to discourage our children.  Instead of filling them with Christ, we are filling them with things.  I am guilty of abundantly indulging my kids in an effort to encourage them when I know I have been anything but.

So, after reading Colossians, I now realize that I have the divine opportunity to change my children’s family of origin.  I will make every effort to edify and build my children up…creating in them confidence that will encourage generations!

 

Father God,

You are the perfect parent.  You never leave us discouraged.  You lift us up on Your wings.  Please forgive me when I discourage my children, please help me be the parent you desire!  Your Word is a gift; please help me to share it abundantly with my little ones.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

