Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

on April 18, 2012
God the Father Português do Brasil: Deus Pai

God the Father Português do Brasil: Deus Pai (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness.” Jeremiah 31:3

I love my husband, and my children.  I love my family and friends.  I pray that I am able to love them with unconditional agape love.  I pray that they know they are loved beyond measure, but because I am human, I fall very short of showing and sharing love constantly…everlasting.  I am incapable of loving fully the way Christ loves.  Christ loves us without any stipulations.  He loves us because He is LOVE.

As I meditated on Jeremiah 31:3, I interpreted the verse two ways.  First I love that He loves us with an everlasting love.  To me that means no matter what the sin or the situation, the Lord ALWAYS lavishes me in His love.  Thus the reason I am able to persevere in the midst of trial.  Or why I am able to get back up after I stumble…or lets be frank, flat out fall on my face!  He loves me so much He gave His one and only son.  He will never stop loving me…EVERLASTING.  I love that he draws us near with His loving-kindness.  The Lord God is a perfect parent.  He is the Father who will never forsake us. We will live eternally with Him.  He is invested in everything we do.  He wants us to cling to His gentleness, learning to rest in His lap while He bathes us in His tender compassion.  He does not tempt us or bring wrath upon us.  He may allow for trial, but He does this in order that we may lift Him high in thanksgiving!  We  are to spend our days praising Him for bringing us through the undesirable moments of our life; rescuing us from our inherent sin nature, protecting us from the kingdom of darkness.  He draws us to Himself and the kingdom of light.

Secondly, the Lord created us in His image.  I have drawn you with loving-kindness.  He draws us to Him because He is so gentle.  I also took this to read that we are literally drawn with loving-kindness.  He created us in His image; therefore, we are created to be kind and loving.  Embodying the Fruit of the Spirit, we are to be tender and gentle with everyone.  We are filled with the Holy Spirit.  We are clothed in robes of righteousness. The Lord delights in us when we emulate Him.  Much like our own children emulate us…

We serve a powerful and gentle God.  He created us for His delight.  Just as I desire for my children to be kind and gentle, the Lord expects from us the same.  He cares so much about all of His creation.  It grieves Him when we do not love our neighbor as ourselves.  As we are drawn to His loving-kindness let us draw others in with our loving-kindness, that which the Lord has filled us with.

 

Lord God,
You are mighty to forgive and rebuke.   You give us opportunities in abundance to care and love all of Your children.  Please make me an instrument of your kindness, so that those who are distant from you will see Your face reflected in mine and want to sit in your lap.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

