Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

The gift of friendship…

on April 24, 2012
Love heart uidaodjsdsew

Love heart

“God is love.  Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.” 1John 4:16

There is nothing so sweet as the LOVE of God.  I am learning that when we love in Christ, we are able to love fully.  I am also learning that no matter the distance, whether time or space, God will honor our relationships when we offer them up to Him.

I have a dear friend.  She is one of those people who the moment I meet I knew we would always be friends.  Her son and mine were in kindergarten together.  Our meeting was brief and hurried.  It was at my son’s birthday party. At Chuckee Cheese.  On a miserably busy Saturday morning.  Although brief, I knew it was special.

My friend loves well.  She is an encourager. She gives her heart so freely.  She loves the Lord and I know she has a very special relationship with Him. She depends on Him to fill her with LOVE.  It makes loving her so very easy.

Our time together is rare as she and I both have very, very busy lives, but the moments together are precious and anointed.  She is a kindred spirit.  I am grateful to the Lord for her life, it is a blessing to all who love her.

She is in a season of trial.  Someone she loves deeply is suffering.  I wish I could wave a wand over the pain and erase it, but God is using it for something bigger. That’s what He does.  He uses the hard eucharisteo to build our strength in Him.  He allows trial so that we may feel His ever-present, unconditional love.  He is LOVE.  He gives us seasons of hurt so that we may be filled with thanksgiving and praise for His steadfast strength and endurance. He always gets us through.  When we are able to stand in the storm, unwavering in the Lord’s presence, we are bathed in LOVE.  Trusting that He will create life out of what is broken is knowing that He is LOVE.

I love my friend.  As I write this, I pray she will read and feel loved.  I pray she sees this as a love letter to the Lord and her…for I am eternally grateful that He has lavished me in the beauty of our friendship and that no matter what she is dear to my heart.  I look forward to the day, God willing, when she and I have so much time together we won’t know what to do with ourselves. But until that day…I will praise Him for bringing her into my life and tenderly placing her in my heart.

Today I will give thanks for…

  1. My friend
  2. Trial and suffering
  3. Friendship that stands the test of time
  4. Chaotic, messy birthday parties
  5. Long walks around the neighborhood
  6. Little boys
  7. Hard eucharisteo
  8. Love
  9. God’s perfect plan
  10. Hope

Father,
Thank you for the gift of friendship.  Thank you for the love you pour over us and into us daily. Thank you for making beauty out of ashes.  Thank you for my friend. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One response to “The gift of friendship…

Leave a Reply

