Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Being the prodigal…

on April 27, 2012
The Return of the Prodigal Son

The Return of the Prodigal Son (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“To whom will you compare me? Or who is my equal says the Holy One.  Lift your eyes and look to the heavens; Who created all these? He who brings out the starry host on by one, and calls them each by name. Because of his great power and mighty strength, not one of them is missing.” Isaiah 40:25-26

Today my gratitude is in the Lord alone.  Oh how He lavishes me in His amazing grace.  He called me out to follow His call.  He loves me unconditionally…He created love.

I remember looking into the night sky during a car ride home and asking Rick if he could believe that the Lord who created the heavens also created us.  And Rick replied that the amazing thing wasn’t the stars He created but rather that He created us to enjoy them.  We are His pride and joy.  He created us for His own delight. I am grateful.

Just as the Lord never loses a star, He NEVER loses His children.  We are the meek and tender sheep of His flock.  When we do go missing He seeks us, searching in earnest for us to return.  WOW!  I am humbled by the way He loves me.

I am so thankful to the Lord for my life.  I look back on the days and years I spent wasting time; doing things that, now I know, grieved His heart.  But, He never turned His back on me; He carried me. The whole way.  He carried me even when He knew that I was self-destructing.  He lifted me into His mighty arms and held me from danger and trial far too great for me to handle alone.  The amazing part is that He did it so mercifully.  He waited for His prodigal to return.  He welcomed me home with opened arms.

My return was a jubilee.  And while I am not proud of the woman I was before Christ, I am forgiven.  When I accepted His wounds and scars; He forgave me. He wiped my slate clean.  He bathed me in His grace.

I am thankful beyond measure for the work the Lord is doing in me.  He has given my life purpose.  He speaks softly into my heart, encouraging me to do the things that will delight Him.  He equips me when He calls me to step out of my comfort zone.  He lavishes me in His love and mercy and grace.

I give thanks and praise to the Lord.

  1. The Cross
  2. The path I walked
  3. The mistakes I made
  4. My perfect Heavenly Father
  5. Agape love
  6. His mercy
  7. His forgiveness
  8. His rebuke
  9. His delight
  10. All of His creation

Father,
You know my every fiber.  Thank you for saving my life in so many ways.  Thank you for loving me and being a perfect parent.  Thank you for never forsaking me.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

