Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Better than Elmer’s…

on May 6, 2012

picture taken specifically for elmer's wikiped...

“In Jesus all things hold together.” Colossians 1:17

I shudder to think of what my life would be like if I had not accepted the Lord in the midst of my deepest, darkest hour.  I cringe when I think back to who I was before I became a new creation in Christ.  Yet, He held me together…even when I was so distant from Him.

He is so faithful to hold on to us even when we let go of Him.

Today I live my life fully committed to following Him and the call He has for my life.  I may not always understand why He allows for certain trials and situations.  I trust that He will always be by my side, holding me together.

When I think about the practical application of this verse, I think of things like my home, my car, my relationships…but really, the holding together is not about application, but about what He is doing inside of me-inside of my heart.  He holds me together.

I spent many years broken and falling apart.  Desperately grabbing onto anything that seemed to bring me back to center, but it was all temporal and (really) broken.  I clung to things that provided a quick fix. Relying on my own imperfect wisdom, running from God’s.  He is all sufficient and I am learning that each day; it is becoming the glue that binds my heart and mind to Him.  He holds me together.

Father,
In you all things are held fast.  You are the Creator of every moment.  You are the thread that weaves through us, creating in us a steadfast dependence.  I pray that I always remember your faithfulness and your mercy.  Lord, thank you for showing me that You are all sufficient.  I will cling to You in complete trust, resting in Your promise to hold everything together. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

