Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Thirty two thousand sunrises…

on May 16, 2012


“Honor your father and mother, that your days may be long upon the land which the Lord your God is giving you.” Exodus 20:12

My grandfather recently celebrated his 90th birthday.  I had the blessing and honor of being there with him as he and my four year old niece blew out the candles.  It was beyond joyous.  He says it was the greatest surprise he has ever had and one of the best days of his life.   The surprise came from his sisters (ages 79 and 92) who traveled 5 hours to be with him on the first day of his 90th year.  He had no idea that they were coming until they walked up the drive.  It was, for me, one of the best days my life, too!

This past weekend reminded me of God’s goodness.  The skies were clear, the breeze was warm and the company was delightful.  All of the moments we spent together were life giving and joyful.  The air spun with laughter and memories of the times we have lived together; the times that God has given us to enjoy and grow as a family.  He has blessed us with abundant love and closeness.  He gave us a perfect weekend to enjoy the gift of life.

I moved from my childhood home, in Michigan, when I was 21 to start a life in Virginia.  I have lived in the south building a life for myself for the past 16 years.  I have missed out on several special family moments celebrated in my absence.  Through the years I have longed to be in the midst of celebrations…birthdays, baptisms, and every day dinners.  But, the Lord is GOOD beyond imagination and He blessed me with the resources to sit alongside my grandfather as he made a wish for his 90th year.

90 years is an amazing amount of time to be on this earth.  He has woken up to over 32,000 sun-rises…days filled with love and joy; sorrow and discouragement.  He has worked hard in his life.  He has been the finest example to his family…always honest, dedicated, self-reliant, loyal and loving.  He cares for those he loves with great abandon.  He has offered advice and opinion.  He has walked through the valley of death as he buried his wife, daughter and son-in-law.  Through it all he has walked with dignity and confidence.  He is a man of great honor.

In his 90th year I pray that he would feel the impenetrable love of Jesus.  I pray that as the days seem to get longer and perhaps a bit more tiresome, that he would cast his cares on the Lord…feeling the ever-present glow of God…feeling the Lord’s strength.  I pray that the Lord would fill his heart with contentment and joy and that he would always know that indelible mark that he has left on the lives of his family.  I praise God for the man who I call “Gamp”.  His love has encouraged me through the years in ways no one else has.  I am eternally grateful to be his granddaughter…and I am eternally grateful to have had the opportunity to celebrate him this past weekend!

Father God,

Thank you so much for grandparents. Thank you for those who have gone before us and for their wisdom and strength.  I praise you for all of my family…especially the sweet old man who has been one of the greatest gifts in my life!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

