Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Fly baby bird…

on June 6, 2012

English: Illustration of a Rock Nuthatch

“Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered.  So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.” Matthew 10:29-30

A friend prayed this scripture over me when I was going through a particularly troubling time in my life.  My friend is Ellie.  Ellie has spent her life loving God deeply; she is a champion for Christ.  Since that bright Indian summer Saturday morning, this passage has stuck with me.  I like to meditate on it when I feel lost or separated from God.  (As I have said in many of my ramblings, God does not turn His back on us…we have perfected the art of turning all on our own.)

I was reminded again, last night, of how He even cares for the sparrow.  Rick had a late church meeting and when he returned he watered our porch flowers and to his surprise, a baby nuthatch jumped right out of one of the hanging planters.  Rick scrambled to return the little hatchling to its nest.  Each time he set the little brown bird in the nest of its mother, it jumped right back out.  Our concern was that the baby bird would parish through the night, encountering a cat or raccoon.  I reminded Rick, as I could see the concern wash over him, that God would take care of this little bird, much like he cares for us.

As I started my morning to-dos, I heard nuthatch chatter from my front porch.  In the bush below the hanging basket, five or more birds lighted on the branches.  They had, seemingly, come together to protect the little bird.  One larger nuthatch even flew up our front steps and fluttered at my screen door.  Squawking in a fury of worry.  Rick noticed the little escapee had made it through the night.  The little bird had managed to climb up the side of our house and was clinging in the space between the bricks.  I could see it trembling with fear.  But, all the while, he was being fiercely protected by a band of brothers (or sisters) ready to defend against predatory attack.  I am certain that God had his hand in this situation all night long.

That’s what God does…He gives us a band of brothers (or sisters) who, in Christ’s name, defend and protect us; standing sentry over our hearts and souls.  Ellie was the bird standing guard as I tried to muddle through the messy undergrowth of my life.  She helped to defend against attacks.  She prayed in earnest to our Savior, Jesus Christ.  She stood in the gap while I was flapping madly to get out of the danger of a broken and fallen human condition.  She never gave up on God’s promise to carry me as He does the sparrow.  Her love brought me into the arms of my Heavenly Father.

I praise God for my friend Ellie.  She is strong of faith.  She loves with the heart of Christ. She is a steward of His faithfulness. I will thank God for her rescue, through Him, all the days of my life.

Father,
Thank you for making us part of a flock. Thank you for instilling in us the desire to go after the one who is lost.  Please help me to be a steward of your love and faithfulness.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

