Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Lost friendship…

on June 8, 2012

“You are light of the world.  A city on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl.  Instead they put it on a stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.  In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:14-16

Let your light shine!  It sounds so simple, yet it can be so very daunting.  Letting your light shine can often times reflect your vulnerabilities.  It can expose the cracks and imperfections of your human condition.  Letting your light shine can take a lot of courage.  Lean on Christ to make your light so bright that the cracks and imperfections and vulnerabilities become appealing and intriguing to those who don’t know the light of the Holy Spirit.

I live in a secular neighborhood, like most do.  My son is currently attending public school, together we have friends from all walks of life.  We have Christian and non-Christian friends.  We love them all.  We do not judge whether our friends go to church.  We don’t condemn those who don’t read the Word each day.  We simply try to live out our faith walk.  It’s not always so easy.  I have prepared my children in such a way that they know that they will encounter friends who have different belief systems.  Friends who have a firm foundation in Christ; others who are seeking His hand; and still others who have no interest what-so-ever in a faith walk.  And it’s all ok.  Our mission is to spread the Gospel message.  But, do not be mistaken, in spreading the message we are NOT trying to convert people to Christianity…that is done solely by the work of the Holy Spirit.  It is only the Spirit of God that can fill people with a longing and a desire to know Christ better.

I have recently been dismissed by a friend.  Even at the age I am, it cuts deep.  As parents we try desperately to protect your children from the heartache of lost friendship.  The loss of a friendship is never easy or wanted.  It is especially unnerving when it blindsides you…never seeing it coming.  This has been a great teachable moment for me especially.  Remember Ellie, the friend who pursued me in the Love of Christ, well I tried in earnest to be that kind of friend to a lady in my neighborhood.  I gave a lot of my heart to the friendship.  I was hopeful that this was a friendship that would stand the test of time and season.  I was mistaken.  And it hurts.  I tried to shine my light.  But perhaps I did it in vein and that I was too over the top in my love for Christ.  That’s ok.  I really don’t think you can love Jesus or others too much.  I have to believe, as the Bible says, God’s word does not return void.  Perhaps something that we, as a family, said or did for our friends set deep in their hearts.  It’s not mine to know.  It is only the Lord’s business. All this to say…

We are co-heirs in the suffering of Christ.  We will encounter people who will rejoice in our faith and want whole-heartedly to seek the Lord alongside of us.  We will encounter people who will think that we are weak because we trust in blind faith.  We will encounter those who turn away from us without warning.  It’s all ok.  It’s ok, because Christ uses it all to build us up and refine us.  He allows for seasons of lost friendship so that we may dig deeper into Him, praying for those who have turned away.  It gives us an opportunity to love from a distance.  It gives us a chance to evaluate who we are and who we seek to share our lives with.  It is a humbling experience.

Father God,

I am convinced that nothing we go through is an accident. I believe, as Your word says, You have a perfect path for our life.  Lord that path may not always seem ideal or perfect or comfortable, but it is all part of your masterful plan.  I pray for those who are distant from you. I pray for broken friendships and questions that may go unanswered.  Most of all I pray for my friend that she may feel Your mighty presence as she traverses the path of her life.  I pray that she would seek Your face and Your guidance.  I thank you for the season I got to be present in her life.  I thank you for who she is and who she will become.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One response to “Lost friendship…

  1. […] Lost friendship… (sunshinelittleone.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

