Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Pray the big prayers…

on June 11, 2012

“Have faith in God,” Jesus answered.  “I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart but believes that what he says will happen, it will be done for him. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.  And when you stand praying, if you hold anything against anyone, forgive him, so that your Father in heaven may forgive you your sins.” Mark 11:22-26

prayer..

prayer.. (Photo credit: aronki)

The idea of getting what you want from the Lord can be exhilarating and a bit intimidating.  When your prayers are answered it can be even more daunting; especially when the prayer is mountainous in proportion.  In the past year our family has received answer to prayer that we thought were too massive to even consider.  But, God is bigger than anything we ask for and He does not give us the desires of our heart without equipping us.

For nearly 18 months we prayed about homeschooling our children.  It’s a big prayer.  It’s a huge leap of faith to pull our kids out of standard school to teach them from our home.  It is an even bigger prayer to trust that I will be effective as their teacher.  God called me to be their mother and He has given me plenty of teachable moments in our journey as a family.  I am confident that He will equip us for this adventure.

I have been asked how I know that we are doing the right thing by educating our children.  I have been asked if I feel like I am capable.  I have been asked if I will lose my mind having my children home with me ALL THE TIME.  Probably…don’t all mothers have moments where we ‘lose our minds?’  But I am in Christ and so is my family.  We trust God fully.

The prayer to homeschool is probably the biggest prayer I have ever prayed. For a while, quite honestly, I figured the answer would be ‘no’, and I would have to change my desires.  I prayed in earnest, all the while, relying on my own human limitations.  I put God in a box.  I did, what many of us do, but boundaries on the grandeur of the Lord.  I didn’t really think that He would answer the desire of my heart with a resounding ‘YES!’  But He did and now we start our voyage.  He is at the helm and He will direct us to the safest harbor, so to speak.  He will equip us and give us strength to masterfully guide our children…and really ourselves…our family.

The point to my rambling is this…even when we think our prayers are too great or lofty, God proves us wrong, or rather gives us HOPE in the seemingly impossible desires of our heart.  We are able to move mountains in His name.

Don’t give up on praying the big prayers.  Don’t stop relying fully on the Lord, Jesus Christ, to answer your greatest heart’s desires.  God is bigger than anything we can imagine!

Dear Lord,
You are the author and perfecter of our faith.  You guide us by the Bright and Morning Star.  You are in everything we hope and desire. I pray that for those of us who limit our prayers to what we think we are capable of, that you would open our minds to greater things; things we find impossible.  Help us to rely on You in all circumstances. Help us to trust that You desire to give us a future and hope.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

