Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Faith without sight…

on June 13, 2012

Sleep mask

“The wind blows wherever it pleases.  You hear it’s sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going.  So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.” John 3:8

One of my dearest friends is Faith Sissel.  Her name means: faith without sight.  Isn’t that so awesome?  Her family gave her a name that would speak to the testimony of her life.  She has blind faith.  She trusts God fully to take care of every detail of her life…the life that He has created.  Sissel has seen joy and sorrow, sometimes intertwined; she has borne witness to the absolute sovereignty of God.

The first real conversation we had was while Sissel was in the hospital on bed rest, pregnant with her twin boys.  We knew each other in passing and always shared a smile and often a hug.  But, it wasn’t until our time spent talking, laughing and crying that I experienced the joy of having Sissel in my life.  And life has never been the same.  It was that day that I realized that faith is not what we see with our eyes, but rather with our heart.  I am blessed by my friend Sissel.

We need friends who will share their faith with us.  We need friends who are bold enough in the Lord that they wear their faith like a badge of honor.  Sissel does that for me, and I know for so many others.  She is light and salt.  Her presence adds flavor to the lives of those who love her. She is firmly planted in the will of God.  When my ability to have faith seems to wane, I think of Sissel and the life she lives…for God.

I love the Lord.  I am a devoted follower of Jesus Christ.  I have been baptized by the Holy Spirit.  I love the fundamental truths of the bible.  I appreciate the doctrine of my church.  I am surrounded on all sides by friends who love the Lord without abandon.  And yet I still have moments, days, and even weeks when I feel distant from the Lord.  I am human and sometimes I am incapable of even mustard seed faith.  But, God is good.  He gives us friends we can turn to in times of ebbing faith.  He gives us opportunities to seek Him in the faces and actions of our loved ones.  He lavishes us in His amazing grace, planting in our path people who have blind faith.  People who have contagious faith.  People whose faith is so firm and palpable it spills over on to us who have trouble trusting.  And, He forgives us fully when we wane.  He is amazing!

I am grateful to the Lord for creating Sissel.  I am blessed beyond measure to call her friend.  I am thankful to the Lord for placing her tenderly in my heart.  She is a kindred spirit.

Dear Lord,
Thank you so much for friends like Sissel.  Friends who make us want to dig deep into Your heart; crawl up into Your lap; seek Your face.  I pray that I am one of those friends.  Thank you for making us salt and light.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One response to “Faith without sight…

  1. […] Faith without sight… (sunshinelittleone.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

