Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Can you forgive like Christ?

on June 25, 2012
forgiveness

forgiveness (Photo credit: cheerfulmonk)

“For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.” Jeremiah 31:34b

There is no greater comfort than knowing that my sins are forgiven and forgotten.  The act of forgiveness is cleansing and freeing.  When we allow the hurts of our past to rest in the hands of God we are liberated from chains that can bind our hearts.  Unforgiveness grows like a weed.  It strangles the life out of us.  Unforgiveness keeps us from loving fully.  We are to forgive just as our Father forgives us.

When we pray the Lord’s prayer we say…”Forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us.”  How are we forgiving the trespasses of others?  Are we limiting our forgiveness by our fallen human condition or are we forgiving the way God forgives us?  Forgiving and forgetting? We can expect to be forgiven by the Lord the way we forgive others.  I have to measure myself against the actions of Christ.  Am I truly letting go of the wounds to my heart?  Am I able to see others the way Christ sees them?

Forgiveness heals our broken hearts.  Forgiveness allows us to grow in Christ.  When we grow in the abundance of His love we are able to extend love and peace that surpasses our own understandingLoving our neighbors as ourselves.

I believe that we are able to extend forgiveness outside of ourselves and in Christ.  To be immersed in His goodness.  He is our perfect example of unconditional, agape LOVE.  His word shows us the simplicity of forgiveness.

We are all sinners and fall short of the grace and mercy of the Lord. We trespass against our neighbors daily.  We are in dire need of forgiveness.  We must be the first to forgive.  We must find in our hearts a way to extend olive branches; even when it seems impossible.

Forgiveness means love.  Loving fully in Christ.  Forgiveness shows that we are capable of moving past the wounds of our hearts. I find it much easier to love than to like-especially when I love with the heart of Christ.  Loving like Christ is a means to draw ourselves and others closer to the lap of God.  We are able to move on with our own lives when the wounds are healed and closed.  There may be scars to remind us the hurts, but those scars are also pain-free and never to be opened again.

Who do you need to forgive today?  Who do you need to seek forgiveness from?

I offer this prayer…

Father God,
Please forgive my trespasses as I forgive those who trespass against me.  Please help me to forgive with Your heart and not my own.  Please forgive me for that which I am aware of and for that which eludes me.  Forgive me, sweet Lord, for the words and actions that come from my mouth and heart that do not give life.  Lord help me to see everyone with Your eyes.  Help me to sow forgiveness.  Thank you for the Cross and the promise of salvation through Your son, Jesus Christ.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

3 responses to “Can you forgive like Christ?

  1. I suspect that I will never, in my brokeness, be able to forgive like Christ. I, also, realize that my long memory helps me to not forget how others have hurt me in the past. We need to be clear about the distinction between forgiveness and forgetting. Forgiveness sets me free to move forward in life without being weighed-down with desires for revenge. However, forgiveness does not “force” me to “forget” about things that people have done to me – and it, certainly, does not “force” me to remain in relationships with abusive and nasty people who will continue to hurt me if I allow them to do so.

    • Well said, Wayne. I have a difficult time (human time) with forgetting. I am secure in knowing that forgiveness does not mean remaining in abusive or toxic relationships. Be blessed. Samantha

  2. […] Can you forgive like Christ? (sunshinelittleone.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

