Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

The road fearfully traveled…

on June 27, 2012

English: A country road

“Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you.  Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul…Teach me to do you will, for you are my God; may your Spirit lead me on level ground.” Psalm 143:8, 10

I have to drive out to the country today.  Sounds perfectly peaceful.  A nice, sunny afternoon drive in the country.  A big blue sky above.  Ready to pick corn lining the road.  Hope of seeing the wonders of nature that are banished from the city.  Sounds lovely…or does it?

My dad always told me that driving offered a freedom that few things offer.  Being able to drive a car is a ticket to explore the world around you.  I love that notion.  Rick and I have spent countless hours meandering through the world around us…and I always love it…enjoying freedom.  I love the drives…unless I am at the wheel.

A few years ago, at least a decade, I was turning out of a driveway on one of those wondrous country roads and missed the road but made it into the drainage ditch beside the driveway.  Yes, I flipped my car into what seemed like a never ending crack in the earth…but really it was only about 6-8 feet.  The flip was in relative slow motion.  But, as I hung there from my seatbelt I felt terror like I have never felt. Fear of traversing the narrow rural roads set in and I battle that fear each time I set out on journey into the country.  The fear has seeped into driving highways I am unfamiliar with and night driving.  I am cautious to nearly frozen in rain and snow.  Unless I find the funds to hire a driver…I need to let go of my fear and trust God fully.

As I map-quested the route to my friend’s home, I realized that she is only .10 miles off of the main road…phew!  Glory be to the Lord.  Reading my morning devotional I came upon the above scripture and felt confident that I will be in the hands of God as I take the trip to big blue sky and cornfields.  God is good!  He always knows what we need and what will give us confidence in Him.

I love that the Lord leads me to level ground…in this case literally.  But, in all instances of my life He leads me to level ground.  When I ask in His will, He sees me through the most daunting tasks and situations.  It is when I forget to call on the Lord that I am plagued with uncertainty.  I am unable to muster up Godly confidence on my own. I am unable to rest peacefully in the face of challenge.  Yet, His unwavering strength inside of me allows me to rest Him.  I am assured of the perfect and level path He will set me on.

I have purposed in my heart to trust the Lord as I venture into the country today.  I have purposed in my heart to trust the Lord on all the paths of my life.  I will trust in His promise to be with me always.

Dear Lord,
You know the paths we are destined to take. You set us on a course that glorifies and brings you honor.  Today, as all days, I will put my complete trust in you.  I will enjoy the splendor of Your beauty and creation.  I will not be riddled with the fear of the unknown…I will rest in You and Your mighty plan.  I am blessed to serve a God who cares for me personally.  I am blessed to know that You are in control and that I am to trust completely in You.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

