Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

How thirsty are you?

on June 28, 2012

“This is what the Lord says:
“Cursed is the one who trusts in man, who draws strength from mere flesh and whose heart turns away from the Lord. That person will be like a bush in the wastelands; they will not see prosperity when it comes. They will dwell in the parched places of the desert, in a salt land where no one lives. “But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” Jeremiah 17:5-8

Domestic interior by Jan Vermeer showing a lea...

I have been that bush in the wasteland.  I have missed opportunity and blessing from the Lord because I relied not on Him, but on myself.  I spent years trying to figure out the key to life…on my own.  Faithful self-reliance left me parched and alone.  I felt the lack of life in my bones.  It is a very lonesome place to be…trusting self and man.  I cried out to the Lord and He answered my call.  He filled me to overflowing with His peace.  He forgave me my sin of self-reliance.  He set me next to a spring of fresh and life giving water.

I am someone who needs fellowship and friendship.  I am someone who thrives on interaction.  When I was relying on myself and others for joy and comfort I would find myself desperately lonesome…even in a crowd of loved ones. I am met by those feelings of inadequacy when I am in a state of vulnerability or when I have taken my eyes off of the face of God.

In times when I am rooted firmly in the Word; reading my Bible daily and meditating on the promises of the Lord I can feel the presence of the Holy Spirit guiding me to lush pastures and streams of cool water.  I am able to accept the lavish of His love. I am able to pour into others the Fruit of His Spirit.  I am full of peace and joy.  However, when I chose to turn from the hand of God, I am left feeling dry and desperate.  Because of my inherent stubborn nature,  it wasn’t until I sought God in those time of barren wasteland that I realized through Him and Him only that I may feel the fullness of life.  The life that the Lord desires.

Money and man will parish.  The Lord remains true forever.  He is the same today as He was yesterday and will be tomorrow.  It is through Him that we are replenished.  He fills us with His Holy Spirit.  The Spirit of Truth.  The Spirit that heals our wounds; transforms our lives and wipes our broken slates clean.  The Spirit of the Lord fills us with the essence of God.  To be baptized in the Holy Spirit sets us apart, giving us a desire for the things of God and not of man.  But, to get there we must die to self.  We must give our lives entirely to the One and only True God.  We must know that He is setting us on a path of righteousness. Unlike man, He will never lead us astray.  His desire for our lives is to live fully in His promise of peace and hope.

Father,
My desire is to live in Your midst; You guiding my feet. You quench my thirst.  You feed my soul with Your beauty.  I know that I will be watered in times of draught by your divine Hand.  Lord, help me to seek Your face above man and the temptations of this world.  I desire to be fully immersed in Your goodness.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One response to “How thirsty are you?

  1. […] How thirsty are you? (sunshinelittleone.wordpress.com) Share this:EmailLinkedInTwitterFacebookLike this:LikeOne blogger likes this. […]

Leave a Reply

