Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

To obey or not to obey…

on June 29, 2012

English: Holy Spirit depicted as the dove (det...

“Honor your mother and your FATHER, so that you may live long in the land the Lord your God is giving you.” Exodus 20:12

The fifth commandment is a tough one.  Teaching your children to honor their parents is truly a lifelong commitment.  It is all about obedience.  Obedience to the Lord, really.  That is what I struggle with…obeying the Lord.  My Father in heaven.  The perfect father.

It came upon me the other morning; how very disobedient to the Lord I am…can be.  I don’t always listen when He speaks.  I ignore His calls.  I am distracted when He asks me to do something.  I am very disobedient.

Recently, two things happened within minutes of each other. As a typical child, I chose how I was going to obey.  I was ‘semi-obedient’ (is that even allowed?  I think not!!)  The Lord kept nudging me to pray for someone.  Someone who I have a difficult time with, I don’t understand their blatant disregard for the Lord and I see a lot of who I was, before Christ, in them.  The Lord kept telling me to ‘lay hands’ on this person…pray for them.  But I didn’t.  I chose to pray for them silently to myself, never laying a finger on the one God was asking me to love for Him.  I choose to disobey.  The second-within moments the Lord filled me with His Spirit. I could feel a burning inside of me.  A complete wash of the Holy Spirit urging me to deliver a word to our congregation.  This is a common occurrence at my church, not for me, but for others.  People feel the pull of the Lord leading them to the Word, leading them to the altar.  I was, at first, really ready to rebel.  I turned to Rick and told him what was going on and he encouraged me to go…so I did.  I did it with a happy obedient heart.

That is just an example of my choosing to be obedient.  I do it daily.  The Lord reminds me of the way I should go and I, very willfully, go in the other direction.  This is a common occurrence.  He reminds me of this often…how I go my way and not His.

It’s funny how I can justify my own disobedience, but get frustrated when my kids chose to disobey.  How dare they???  How do they know to do this?  Oh, yea, right…it’s me; I am their (not so shining) example.  They are unwittingly following in my footsteps.  Time to pull in the reigns and make an effort to be the most obedient daughter I can be to my Father, so that my little lambs will desire to obey their parents.  Surprisingly, they are joyfully obedient to the Lord…Thank God!

A friend recently shared with me the secret to her parenting…she doesn’t really know that she shared this, but I gleaned a lot of hope from what she said.  As we were gathering our children up at a playdate she said to her son, “You have choices, you can chose to obey or you can chose to disobey, I hope you chose to obey.”  In that very instant it occurred to me, I have the same choices.  I need to press into the goodness of the Lord; His perfect will for my life.  I need to listen and obey.

Father God,
Your mercies are new each morning.  You know every step I am to take.  You direct my path and yet I stray.  Thank you for forgiving me.  Help me to honor my Father.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

