Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Mirror mirror…

on July 14, 2012

“Those who look to Him are radiant; their faces are never covered in shame.” Psalm62:8

When was the last time you looked in the mirror?  Did you see the light of Christ shining back at you?  Or were you captured by thoughts of inadequacy…of not measuring up to what you wish you saw in the mirror?  Stop.  Look again. The image you see was created by the One who created the universe.  He made you perfect in His sight.

When we live in Christ, we are clothed in His righteousness.  We are beautiful beyond beautiful in the eyes of the Lord.  He sees us in the light of His perfection.  That’s what happened at Calvary. The Lord, Jesus Christ, was crucified to make us beautiful in the sight of the Lord.  We are all created to be purposeful for the Lord.  The gift of the cross washed us free of all blemish and tarnish.  When we live fully in the Lord, we are seen by God in Christ’s righteousness.

So, I look in the mirror.  I look in the mirror not to see my human condition, but rather the glow of Christ.  When I am looking to see Jesus, I miss all the imperfections that keep me from being fully purposeful.  I see beauty.  I see strong arms and legs that carry children and walk them through this world.  I see a smile that comforts, with Christ’s joy, those who are sad.  I see eyes that view this world from Christ’s perspective.  I see a face that weathers the everyday of life.  When I a look in the mirror and seek Christ, I see beauty.  The converse is to see myself the way I have been programmed to without Christ…the way the world conditions us to see ourselves.  I allow for the world to tarnish Christ’s view of me, I become jaded and hardened to the delight of Christ. I see myself anything but beautiful.  This is not the Lord’s desire.

I am going to seek the beauty in the mirror.  I am purposing to see myself as Christ sees me, a creation in His image.  Will you?

Father God,
Thank you for creating me to be exactly who you need to be in this world.  I am grateful beyond words for your love and mercy.  In Jesus’ name, Amen!

POTD - window, wall and mirror

Leave a Reply

