Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

How will you thank Him?

on July 26, 2012
The Lord is my Good Shepherd

The Lord is my Good Shepherd (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

“Know that the Lord is God.  It is He, who made us, and we are His; we are His people, the sheep of His pasture.” Psalm 100:3

 

I am prone to wander.  I stray more often than I should.  I leave the flock to explore and adventure in the desires of my imperfect heart.  I am like a child chasing a ball into the street.  On my own I am capable of putting myself in situations that are far from the plan of the Lord.  Yet, in all my meandering, the Lord gently guides me back to Him.  His rod and staff they comfort me.

When I stray I feel the pains of loneliness and discontent.  When I live my life outside of the realm of God, I am overwhelmed by the temptations of this world.  When I chose to let go of the Lord’s hand I am living outside of His perfect peace and plan for my life. I am left feeling less than loved, but, He leads me back to His heart.  He leads me in His grace and mercy.

The Lord knew before I entered this world that I would stray and that I would wander.  He knew that I would fall short of His glory.  He knew that on my own I would be fallible and fallen.  He knew that without Him I would be left to die in my own sin nature.  The sin of Eve.  The sin of want and desire.  He knew this from the beginning.  He sent His Son to wash me clean as snow.  Wash me from the error of my sin so that I would live eternally with Him in the Throne Room.  He sent the ultimate sin offering when He sent Christ to take the sin of the world.

How can I ever thank Him?  How can I, in my sinful desires, thank Him for His unconditional love?  The LOVE that comes only from the Father?  How can I show Him that my gratitude for His sacrifice is worthy?  I am to accept Jesus as my Lord and Savior.  Through this acceptance I am free to enter the gates of Heaven in the blameless, perfect image of Christ.  Thank you LORD!  Accepting the Cross; I show complete, trusting gratitude.

“What can wash away my sins…nothing but the blood of Jesus?”

So, the Great Shepherd leads me back to His pastures of righteousness and grace and LOVE. He sets me in the center of a flock of believers and those who are confident in the promise of eternal life.  He surrounds me in a blanket of His forgiveness. He is mighty to save even when we are mighty to stray.

Father,
Your mercies are new and bright each morning. You are the almighty savior through whom we will live eternally in Your light.  Forgive me when I stray, lead me to Your heart.  Lead me to Your lap so that I may languish in Your sweet love.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.


Leave a comment