Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

I am already here….

on August 28, 2012

“Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here I am. Send me!” Isaiah 6:8

I accepted Jesus when I was 15.  I was a member of Young Life.  I remember sitting in the Rocky Mountains overlooking the Continental Divide.  I confessed my need for a savior…a friend.  I felt the peace of the Lord press into my heart.  I didn’t realize, at the time, that as a child of God, I needed to walk out my faith.  I kept my love of Jesus hidden in my heart.  Little did I know I was to spread the message of His amazing grace.

My deep desire to be in the presence of the Lord has grown exponentially since I was 15.  I spent several years running from the Lord.  Turning my back on Him.  Turning my gaze from His face to worldly delights. Christ didn’t fit into my lifestyle.  When I did seek Him, I was ashamed and battered in my condition.  My prayers were fleeting and selfish.

He found me and turned my heart back to Him when I was in my early thirties.  He made me a new creation and cemented in my heart a deep desire to live fully in His glory.  Living in His glory means being His hands and feet.  Loving with His heart.  Seeing the world through His eyes.  Living in the glory of God means loving when it’s hard.  Giving when you feel barren and dry.  Living in the glory of God means a willingness to share the message of salvation-even when your words fall on deaf and defiant ears.

I want to be a messenger of His goodness.  I want to speak His truth.  I desire to share the joy of the Lord.  So, when He says who will I send? I raise my hand.  But where will He send me?

I thought for the longest time that He would send me into the far reaches of the world to share the gospel message.  But not right now.  Maybe someday.  My mission field is not in a foreign land but rather in the confines of my own home.

He has sent me to the heart of my children.  He has given me the opportunity to lavish my little treasures in the love of Christ.  He has cemented His Fruit in my heart so that I may share with my children the Rock that is Christ; that they will always know that that no matter what they encounter in life they are shrouded in the strength and mercy of Jesus.

Will He send me into those far reaches I think I long for? Only God knows.  For now I will abide in Him as He draws me and my family into His lap.  I will be grateful for the way He equips me to parent my children.  I will be thankful for the Word I stand on, knowing that the seeds are being planted in the ever growing hearts of my littlest delights.

Jesus,
Thank you for sending us where you need us most!
I pray that I may be your hands and feet.  I pray that the seeds planted in the heart of my children will grow to produce an abundant harvest for Your glory.  In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

