Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Gotta love a Valley girl…

on August 29, 2012

“Then Jesus said to His disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear….Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them.  And how much more valuable you are than birds! Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?” Luke12:22-25

If worrying added hours I would have time to spare.  I am learning to indulge less in my anxiety and more in Christ.  I have yet to master the act of spending time with God before my day really begins.  I tend to ‘fit’ Him in to my schedule.  He should be my schedule.  My day should undoubtedly begin with the Lord.  I do say my prayers as soon as my eyes open, but that doesn’t mean I am walking out the rest of my morning with the Lord.

For instance, yesterday…I spent less time in the presence of the Lord and more time in a frenzy of anxiety and worry.  Why?  For what?  It served no purpose to get in a whirlwind of emotion.  But, God is awesome!  He meets us where we are at and stops us in our tracks when He sees us spiraling out of control.  He gently reaches inside our hearts and flips a ‘God-switch’.  He calms our personal storm.

I waste time in worry.  It does not benefit anyone.  It makes my children anxious; my husband annoyed and puts me in a foul mood.   I must resolve to worry less and trust God more….completely.

We recently spent a week in the Shenandoah Valley.  Everything about our trip was pure delight.  From getting the day started to putting the kids down to bed, the days were calm and serene.  There was no rush or annoyance in getting dinner on the table.  Tidying up didn’t become a production…it was just done-joyfully!  But, when I returned home all the serenity must have flown out the window on the ride east.  I was a ball of nerves as I prepared a simple, thirty minute meal for my family.  The idea of completing any household task sent me into a fit and then the Lord stopped me (as He always does).

He planted in my heart a need.  I need to make myself savor the monotony of every day.  It’s good to be in a routine.  It’s good to not be on vacation all the time.  But, it’s equally good to bring the calm from the Valley home to my little house in the suburbs.  Is it possible?  Is it possible to be calm and restful in my hub of activity? Sure…with God.

When we ask, if it is in His will, we receive.  So, I am confident that as I ask to be patient, and kind, and good, and loving to my family; He will fill me.  He desires that I am a Proverbs 31 woman.  Serving my family joyfully.  SERVING!  That’s the key…to serve my family with JOY!  It isn’t always easy to muster the joy on my own, but in His mercy, I am filled to overflowing.

Father,
For all the moms and dads out there who feel the crush of worry and anxiety, please heal us from the inside.  Change our hearts.  Help us to see the eternal value in dishes and homework.  Housework and laundry.  Help us to see that the family you have created for us is to give us joy not to evoke complete confusion and anxiety.  Thank you for Your grace and mercy.  Thank you for filling us with Your Fruit that we may love abundantly.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

