Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Happy Birthday Sweet Caroline!…

on August 30, 2012

“The Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save.  He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” Zephaniah 3:17

Today we celebrate Caroline’s fifth birthday.  She is, what we call, our exclamation point!  She completes our family.  She brings joy and delight and a bit of spark to our every day.  She is strong in her opinions.  She loves fiercely.  She has a servant’s heart.  She is every bit of delightful.  She is a blessing.

I will admit the day I went for my ultrasound and learned that I would birth a baby girl my heart was full of joy and worry.  A girl.  I didn’t know what to do with that information.  I had always envisioned having a brood of boys.  But, God had different plans for my life.  My joy came from the notion that I would have a sweet little girl to love and fawn over.  But my worry came from the relationship I shared with my mom…and her with hers.  It was a worry deep-set in the dysfunction that followed my mom and me from my early childhood until the day she died.  It was a dysfunction that has taken years to recover from…or at the very least understand.  I am not my mother.  Caroline is not me.  God is amazing.

God knew long before I was even a blink of an eye that someday my arms would be filled with a redheaded bundle of joy.  He knew that the fear and anxiety planted in my own maternal relationship would be far from the relationship I share with my daughter.  He knew that there would be redemption.  He has sung life into our hearts.

His mighty to save.  He saves us from our past.  He guards our hearts and reveals the beauty of Love.  I love my mom to the very core of my being. I wouldn’t be the woman, wife, or mother I am today without her love and guidance, and perhaps her faults.  I learned from her mistakes just as I desire Caroline to learn from mine.  She will.  She will look back on our life together and dissect the good and bad.  The most profound difference between my mom and I and Caroline and I, is that Caroline and I share a love for Jesus.  We know that any issue that arises will be set at the feet of our Savior.  We will seek His hand to guide us through the times that we cannot traverse alone.  But really? Are there any times that aren’t completely guided by the Lord?  No.  He is with us always.

Today, I rejoice in the delight that is the gift of my daughter.  She is joy, pure joy.  She has transformed my heart.  In five years she has wielded a love-sword greater than any past disappointments.  She brightens my day…her father’s day…and even her brother’s.  She is ours to love and encourage.  She is ours to grow deeply in the Lord with.  She is ours to enjoy all the days of our life.

Thank you, Lord, for little girls.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

2 responses to “Happy Birthday Sweet Caroline!…

  1. Beautifully said friend! Mothers & Daughters: a beautiful, messy mystery. Have a wonderful day celebrating that gift! You are an exceptional mom and you have an extraordinary daughter. Oh and a totally awesome God. 😉

    • Thank you! I watch you and your momma and am so grateful that Lord has placed wonderful mother/daughter relationships in my life! It gives me something to strive for! We do serve an amazing God! You are a blessing…as is your sweet Reagan!

Leave a Reply

