Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

The gift of a friend…

on September 5, 2012

“Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.” 1 Corinthians 1:3

European Starling (Sturnus vulgaris), typical ...

This was the greeting from Paul the Apostle to each church when he wrote to encourage them in their faith.  Whether his letter was instruction to press harder or a pat on the back for deeds done in Christ, he always offered grace and peace.

What if we offered grace and peace to those we greet?  What if we spoke life into the hearts of our families, friends and even strangers?  What if we really, really, stopped long enough to extend the LOVE of Christ to everyone we encountered?  What would our world look like?

I imagine very little conflict.  But hasn’t that been the desire of many a heart since the beginning of time?  Haven’t we hoped for peace and grace to lie upon us like a warm blanket? Covering our sins and softening our hard edges?

I have a lovely sister in Christ who strives daily to walk out ‘peace and grace’.  It is evident in the way she reaches for her husband and children.  She walks in beauty…the beauty of Christ.  She delights in the Lord in ways that I never knew possible until the Lord cemented our friendship with His seal of love.  She has taught me to have grace in all circumstances.  Do I? Certainly not.  I am a work in progress. However, my friend silently and softly encourages me to seek His grace and peace when I am empty…parched…desert dry.

I recall years ago catching her on the phone while she was doing laundry for her family…seven children and two adults.  I said, “Wow, it must really overwhelm you to have to do that much laundry.” She simply replied, “Isn’t it a blessing to have clothes to wash?” GRACE.  She is filled to overflowing.

My friend and her family walked out a very difficult time this past year or so.  She fell mysteriously ill for a few months.  Her husband, a teacher of the Word, fell under severe persecution.  While they walked through this most difficult time, she walked in the PEACE of the Lord, knowing that He is sovereign and always with us. (Matthew 28:20)

I have learned a lot from her, about her and because of her.  I learned that the Lord never leaves and He always is replenishing our GRACE and PEACE.  He fills us to overflowing when we ask in His name to be filled with His grace and peace.  And, even when we don’t feel gracious and peaceful, He is…and that is enough. His grace is sufficient in our weakness.  Always.

I love my friend; everyone should have a Helen in her life.  She walks out her life as a Proverbs 31 woman.  She encourages, loves and trusts in the Lord always.  She has lifted me high to the Lord in more ways than I can consider. I am humbled by her Godly submission to serve in GRACE and PEACE even when it’s difficult.

She walks in beauty…the beauty of Christ.

Lord God,
I offer thanksgiving for the women in our lives that walk in obedience to Your call.  Who care and love in the most straining and stressful times.  I thank you for the example to pray for and love our enemies.  I thank you for my friend.  She embodies the Fruit of the Spirit.  I pray that all women would have a friend like mine, who will encourage, pray and love us in all times.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

