Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

His Spirit is upon me…

on September 6, 2012

Day four of homeschooling.  They have been the craziest, most exhausting, joy filled, introspective days of my entire life.  I am overcome, overwhelmed and overjoyed by the grace of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  He is the ultimate to fill us when we feel inadequacy setting in.

He has graciously enlightened me as to the kind of person I am.  He has revealed that I am rigid.  Really, very rigid.  And here I thought all these years that I was a ‘go-with-the-flow; fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants’ kind of gal.  I’m not.  I have never been flexible.  I have wished myself to be flexible, but nope…I am rigid. But, that is completely fine, because the Lord uses this for His glory.

As I accept this realization, I am filled with a joy I have never felt…I usually just feel the pressure of anxiety.  Even rigid in my emotions…tisk, tisk!

Anyway, as I accept this realization I find myself giddy after the Lord.  I am overcome by His presence.  I am basking in His warm and encouraging glow.  He lights on me.  This has happened more and more; the lighting of the Lord’s Holy Spirit on my being.  It is an amazing feeling.  Perhaps the same feeling a flower has as a butterfly sweetly rests to take in nectar.  “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit is upon you.” Acts 1:8

The power of the Lord is palpable.  When we call on Him to be upon us, it is different than when we first accept Jesus Christ as our Savior; then we are filled with the Holy Spirit, the Holy Spirit is in us.  I have been experiencing the power of the Holy Spirit upon me.  The difference?

Well, from what I can tell, as the Holy Spirit is upon me, I feel an immense sense of peace that fills my Spirit.  It is a calming peace, an ‘I can do all things through Him who gives me strength’ (Philippians 4:13) kind of peace.  I am overwhelmed by his presence.  I can feel His breath; the tingle of my spine tells me He is surrounding me in His LOVE.  He has covered me under His wing and I chose to dwell there as I go through my day.   I chose to remain shrouded in His wisdom and understanding.

I am overjoyed.  I have no doubt that this journey into homeschooling is going to have days that are less than joy filled, and that’s fine.  As long as I serve the Lord and act in accordance to His call on my life, I will walk in His joy.  I will choose to rely fully on God.  I will trust that by asking in His will for my Spirit to be filled with His Fruit, even the most tiresome days will be wrapped in His glory.

As for my rigidness?  This too shall change. I am a work in progress, we all are.  He uses all of our experiences to refine and grow us.  I trust that He is working in me to give me hope and a future.   He is with me always.

“I am the vine; you are the branches.  If a man remains in me and me in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from ME you do nothing.” John 15:5

Dear God,
Thank you for firmly cementing in our hearts the desire to homeschool our children.  Thank you for the overflowing and abundant filling of our love buckets with Your Fruit.  I pray peace upon my home and all homes…whether homeschooling or not.  I pray that all parents would have a renewed peace knowing that You are all sufficient.  In the glorious name above all names, Jesus.  Amen.

4 responses to “His Spirit is upon me…

  1. akateacher says:

    From one ridged homeschool mom to another. . . He will transform us one day, whether on this side of Heaven or the other! Thanks for the encouragement for today!

  2. Good one Sam! Great description of the presence of the Holy Spirit. I’ll have to remember it the next time someone asks me how I know there’s a God. I can finally abandon the “I just know” defense that I always end up resorting to when all else fails. And as someone who is entirely too flexible, I always appreciate a little rigidity. Just God’s way of keeping balance in the world.

Leave a Reply

