Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

He is bigger than the storm

on September 8, 2012

“He will command his angels concerning you to guard you carefully; they will lift you up in their hands so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.” Luke 4:10-11

I take great comfort in knowing that I am guarded over by the Lord’s angels.  It gives my heart great peace knowing that no matter what the situation the Lord is with me.  I am humbled to know that I am so important to the King of Kings that He intercedes in every facet of my life. Even in the most troubled times, I am not alone. He receives me in His arm and gives me comfort. A comfort greater than any human heart can offer.  He is mighty to ease our worry.  He fills us with His Spirit.  When we trust in the Lord, He will cover us.

Each night as my husband and I tuck our little ones in they are comforted by the prayers of “Jesus, please send your angels to fill this room.  Please fill their dreams and thoughts with the sweetness of Jesus.”  They are sent off to sleep secure in the knowledge that the Lord is present.  They know that they are protected.  They are children and their faith is great. They only know to trust that their prayers and petitions will be answered by God Himself.

As adults, when did we stop trusting…when did our ‘child-like’ faith give way to skepticism? God has not turned from us, but we from Him.  It’s easier than we imagine, easy to fall away from the Lord.  But, He is amazing in His mercy and grace and reaches out His hand to us to walk us through life.

Sometimes it takes something to shake us up to turn our face back to the Lord.  Illness, job loss, crisis, relationship troubles.  It is in these times that we remember that He is there.  But, He is there in all circumstances, good and bad.  He is the good.  He is good all the time. He will take our hard situations and redeem them for His glory.  He sets on the Rock that is Jesus.  He cements in our hearts a desire to serve Him and love Him and press into Him.

I challenge myself to press into the Lord.  I challenge myself to have ‘child-like’ faith.  I challenge myself to not take my gaze off of His face and to know that while sometimes ‘the Lord calms the storm; sometimes He lets the storms rage and calms His child.’

Father God,
You are in control.  You know the days you have set out before me.  I thank you and I praise YOU.  I pray that I am always seeking Your face to guide me through the trials and triumphs of life.  In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

