Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Faith not by sight…

on October 1, 2012

                                                                                                                                                                                                            “Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?” John 11:40

There is no measure of the glory of God. His love is infinite, never-ending, unfailing.  He loves us deeply and tenderly.  He is ever present and all knowing.  He is the God of redemption.

It was nearly five years ago that I fell completely head over heels for the Lord.  I remember kneeling on my living room floor; a mess.  Broken beyond repair, tired, worn, lost.  I surrendered my heart to the Lord.  I gave Him every bit of who I am.  I trusted that He would carry me through the trial of life.  I trusted that He would set a path for me.  He has done that and so much more!

On that October evening as I gave my life to Christ, I never imagined what my life would be like, I just knew that I had reached the life boat, I was safe from harm.  I was secure in the arms of my Father. It was an overwhelming feeling.

I had been reading A Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren.  A daily devotional outlining the purpose of my life on earth.  Each night my husband and I would ruminate on scripture. I knew that I needed to trust God, but I had been so used to doing life all on my own.  Trusting myself…trusting man.  So, I wasn’t sure I needed a savior. I wasn’t sure that the path to Christ was for me.   But, His Word does not return void and once a seed is planted; just as any crop; if it is cultivated, it grows to produce a mighty harvest.  The crops are now being harvested.  I stand in a field of abundance.  There is no drought, or heavy rain that can destroy what the Lord has grown. I do need a savior.

Those first moments with Christ make first love seem petty.  The Love He shares and lavishes upon us is pure and kind.  Each time I open my Bible I am filled with anticipation of the new treasure He will bestow upon me.  Every day He gives me a new gem to carry me through the rocky path of life.  He sets me on firm ground, on solid rock.  He cleanses me of my sin.  He forgets my transgressions, yet He sets in me a desire to do better, be better, live better.  He gives me grace and mercy when I am so undeserving.  He is my protector, my comforter, my love.

My family serves the Lord and, even as little children, my son and daughter are quick to respond to “Who loves you most?” with “God!”  They know His love for them is greater than any love.  They know that I love them and their daddy loves them because He first loved us.

My faith sets me apart, and that can be a lonely place in the world.  I have lost friends because of my deep abiding love for Jesus.  I am different and set apart.  It took me awhile to live freely in the shadow of the Cross, but now that I do, I am ok with not being normal.  I am ok with standing tall for my faith.  I am proud to be a daughter of the King.  Unlike those friends who turned from me, the Lord turns to me and says to me to seek His face.  He will not leave me or forsake me.  He will be my all and everything for the rest of my life on earth into my eternal life with Him.

If you are new to the Lord, or the Word, or are returning from a lonesome journey; will you pray this prayer with me…?

Father God,
You alone are enough.  You are abundant in Your forgiveness, mercy and love.  I repent of my ways, I seek your forgiveness.  I ask that You would fill me to overflowing with the knowledge and confidence of your unfailing love.  Set me apart O Lord that others would want to know the light that shines brightly from my heart.  Protect me, Jesus, from those who wish to do harm.  Keep me secure under Your mighty wing.  Open my heart that I may see the abundant life I have in You.  I thank you Father for your gift of the Cross, I thank you that I am Yours and will rest in you for eternity.  I am thankful, Lord, that You are the God of second chances and redemption.  I praise You Father all the days of my life.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

