Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Standing on the Rock…

on October 12, 2012

No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it. (Hebrews 12:11)

I look to the Lord’s word in every situation.  His counsel is sound and just.  It is infallible.  It is the Rock on which I stand.  It is solid and true.  And in its righteousness, it can be difficult for a fallen sinner, such as myself,  to keep from sliding off. I slide off of the Rock far too often.

I raise my voice. I flail my arms.  I have probably stomped my feet.  I have done this in the presence of my children…at my children.  I am not proud.  Thankfully, I serve a God who is calm and loving in His rebuke and whispers gently in my ear: Slow down.  Act in Love.  Be kind.

We all have those days when we need, not just an extra measure of grace, but a complete do-over.  Parenting is exhausting and the effects are eternal.  We are commanded to share LOVE abundantly with the treasures the Lord has trusted us with.  Some days are much easier than others.

Today I walked in grace…not my grace but HIS AMAZING GRACE.  We had an incident…don’t we all.  We had a power struggle between the littlest one who likes to do things on her own, and the bigger one who likes to wield authority. A brother and sister so unbelievably in love with each other, but so very determined to get his or her own way.  Let’s just say the toys they were to be cleaning up have taken a sabbatical for the next two weeks.

I screamed.  She cried.  He repented.  We loved on one another.  They have sought (mandatory) refuge in their rooms…I have come to write.  We all needed a time out.

We spend hours and hours and hours together each day.  There are more than enough chances to see each other’s dark side.  But through the darkness, God, himself, shows up and lavishes us in mercy and grace.  He gives us Jesus so that we may seek redemption and say we are sorry and put the past behind us.  He gives us His grace and it is sufficient.

We are a family and we are fiercely protective of one another but we often rage in battle.  He refines us and gives us glimpses of Heaven in the tears we wipe the hands we hold and the laughter we share when the war is over.

I am a fallen sinner.  I parent without Him on so many occasions and He accepts me and fills me and keeps me on the Rock.  He loves me and shows me how to love…love the two treasures He trusts me with.

Father,
For all the mommas out there who struggle between flesh and Spirit,  I ask that you guard our hearts, our tongue and our steps.  Place us on Your path of righteousness.  Hold our hands as we navigate through these unchartered waters. We can ask and read and seek knowledge from other mommas, but when it comes down to it, this is our path and we have you as our beacon.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

2 responses to “Standing on the Rock…

  1. Paddy says:

    Alleluia!

Leave a Reply

