Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

He’s got this one…

on October 17, 2012
Strong Man is Strong

Strong Man is Strong (Photo credit: LOLren)

“His dominion is an eternal dominion; his kingdom endures from generation to generation.  All the peoples of the earth are regarded as nothing.  He does as he pleases with the powers of heaven and the peoples of the earth.  No one can hold back his hand or say to him “What have you done?”.” Daniel 4:34-35

The election has been decided, we just don’t know the outcome yet, but God does. He decided before the heavens and earth were created who would serve as the leader of our nation in this particular time.  He knew that our people would stand against each other, at odds, mean and nasty.  He knew long ago that we would toil over the ‘he saids and she saids’.  He knew that there would come a time when we would all but fall apart…that time is now.

I am not a a political scholar…I am Christian.  Plain and simple.  Or perhaps not so plain. I am clothed in the righteousness of Christ and that, my friend, is brilliant and…safe.

I know that no matter what the outcome of our country’s election, I am safe in the arms of Christ.  So is our country.

I watched on the precipice of baseball and rhetoric last night. I watched my beloved baseball team win a third straight win and a city find strength and hope .  And then, I listened to two grown men, who are so confident that they are better, more equipped, and more in love with the American people than the other to run this country.  They said things like… “The economy affects folks like us” as they spoke to a crowd of true middle class…moms and dads struggling to put food on their table and their children through college.  I venture to guess neither candidate is currently struggling anywhere other than in the polls…And, unlike the game, there wasn’t a lot of strength or hope to be found.

I trust God.  He knows who will be president of this great nation.  He knows that we need an overhaul.  We need to come back to the heart of our establishment…Christ.

Father,

You have this nation in your mighty hands.  I pray that you would bless us with leaders who will fulfill the ideals of our founding fathers and above all Christ.  We need to be good.  We need to be kind.  Mostly, we need to love.  I pray for Your will to be done.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

2 responses to “He’s got this one…

  1. Yes. And in the paradox we live in God knows (predestination) but we still have to act (free will). Those who vote will help direct the country for better or worse. Those who do not vote will passively let others decide this next phase. The heart of the country will be shown, and God will do what He needs to do to turn hearts back to Him. How bad does it need to get before people turn back to Him?

    • Great words, Jason.
      I had contemplated not voting and then a Christian friend reminded me of the same truth…I can not sit passively by as others make choices for me. And, God commands us to act responsibly.
      Thanks for following! God bless you. Samantha

Leave a Reply

