Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

You are an amazing woman…

on October 24, 2012

“I praise you because I am wonderfully and fearfully made.” Psalm 139:14

I am broken and fallen.  I am sinful and jaded.  I am anything but perfect.

And I am ok with that.

I am ok with being Samantha, the sinner.  Well, not exactly ok with it, I am striving to be like Christ.  But, He accepts me right where I am.  He takes my dirty, stained self and washes it white as snow each day.  He gives me opportunity abundant to redeem myself.  He wants me to be me.  Because, even as a sinner, I am exactly who He created me to be. He created me to love fully and honestly.  He created me to encourage and care.  He created me to stand up for what I believe is right…even when I become unpopular because of my voice.  He created me to see the world from a bright point of view.

I am who He desires me to be.  I don’t have to try to be like anyone else…save for Him.

As women, our days are filled and marred with ‘wish I could be-s’ and ‘oh, if only-s’ .  We spend so much time and energy trying to be someone else that we forget the precious gems we are in the eyes of Christ.

I find myself caught in the web of mother insecurity.  I compare myself regularly to the moms who seem to have it all together.  The ones who appear to have found the secret of good housekeeping, time management, budgeted finances.  The ones whose children stand still in line at the grocery story, or who never raise their voices.  I compare to the point that I lose who I am created to be.  Me.

I will let you in on a few secrets…

My kids sometimes leave the house with messy faces and mismatched socks. (the socks rarely are mated with the proper pair)….or no socks at all.

I write already done items on my ‘to-do’ list only to feel the satisfaction of marking them off.

I think cereal bars a cup of juice and a stick of cheese make for great and wholesome breakfasts and lunches.

I make a menu each week to cook from and instead I spend time whining about having nothing to make for dinner.

I have learned that a fashionable scarf hides a multitude of permanent stains and, at the same time, a pudgy tummy.

All this to say that I am sure that I look, that we all look, like we have it completely together from time to time.  We don’t and that is ok.  Christ knows that we don’t and He is ok with it.  Each moment we take breaths here on earth are moments for him to breathe life into and refine us so that what other people see is the joy of Christ radiating from us and not the dark circles that seem to take over our face.  They see a woman who radiates brightly with the love of the Lord.   They see a woman who strives daily to be better, love truer, and give abundantly…sacrificially.

Today I will practice being just me; Samantha I pray that you will practice being you…you may come to find that YOU are a great woman…a woman you want to be!

Be blessed and be a blessing!

Leave a Reply

