Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Day three…The Blindside

on October 31, 2012
Milk Duds

Milk Duds (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Halloween is a blindsiding event.

It is amazing how one can stand firm against temptation, rather I can stand firm, and then I fall.  I cave to the delight of sugar and sweet.  I am powerless.  I run from God’s voice in my head.

I am ashamed.

I knew going into this evening activities that I would be tempted.  I caved.  But, not to justify, I realized midway through my second mini box of Milk Duds that I was going against me declaration to treat my body better.

“Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own.” 1 Corinthians 6:18-20

And, I think it is important to note, when in the face of temptation, even if we cave, we can be redeemed if we chose to turn from that which tempts us.  I did that.  I put the candy down and delighted in the sweetness of all the little treaters in their creative costumes.

I am fallen. But I am in the grace of the Lord.

Tomorrow is a new day and I am purposing in my heart to NOT be blindsided!

May the Lord go with you through your day.  May He cover you in His grace. May you delight in undeserving mercy!

Be blessed and be a blessing!

2 responses to “Day three…The Blindside

  1. Kelly says:

    I was thinking of you tonight – you did well! Mini box of milk duds aside, you turned away – which I think at times can be harder than abstaining in the first place. Hope to see you tomorrow! xoxo

Leave a Reply

