Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Day Four…Renewed mercy…

on November 1, 2012
"Forgiveness 3" by Carlos Latuff.

“Forgiveness 3” by Carlos Latuff. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.  I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” Lamentations 3:22-24

The Lord bestows upon us renewed mercy each and every day.  I really believe, that with true repentance, His mercy is new moment by moment.  And, as He lavishes us in new mercies, He wipes our sinful slates clean.  Then why do we have such a difficult time being merciful to those we love?  Why, even when we see those we love striving to do better do we hold on to the person they were and not delight in the person they are becoming?

I ponder this question often.  I think of how I am quick to subscribe to the old adage “I may forgive but I never forget.”  What does that mean?  Do we really keep a running tally of all the misgiving and wrongs in our lives caused by others?  We, ourselves, expect forgiveness and forgetting when we repent, why then do we not afford this same courtesy to those who sin against us…or those who may not have sinned against us, but merely just sinned? We hold grudges.

I am coming to realize that my fast is less about giving up food, but more about giving up me.  Dying to self to live for Christ.  I fall away so abundantly; as abundantly as He stands near.  He is a breath away…that close.  The Lord stands waiting for us to call on Him.  In His infinite vastness, He is right here.  Amazing!  So, I am fasting self.  I am walking away from me and into Him.  I long to feel His strong and capable arms gripping my frail human condition.  I long to sit in His lap and gaze into His eyes.

He reveals Himself to me each moment…the moments I am really paying attention.  I pray He reveals Himself to those who have been tragically affected by Hurricane Sandy.  I pray that He comforts and sustains them in this time of trial.  Some may ask, “Where is God in the midst of this tragedy?” He is here.  He has not forsaken a soul.  He allows for tragedy to enter our lives so that we can see His hand in the healing.  It is essential to our faith that we believe, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that the Lord God is Supreme in all circumstances.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

