Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Hope for a nation…

on November 7, 2012
...Hope...

…Hope… (Photo credit: ĐāżŦ {mostly absent})

“There is surely a future hope for you, and your hope will not be cut off.” Proverbs 23:18

When we are depending on man for hope, we seldom get the desire of our heart. But, we will always get the desire of the Lords heart; I put my hope in Him.

The election may not have turned out the way many of us had hoped, yet we should not hang our heads or feel despair, in doing so we take our focus off of the Lord and put it on a man; a man as sinful and fallen as ourselves.  “Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; He is my mighty rock, my refuge.  Trust in Him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to Him, for God is our refuge.” Psalm 62:5-8 The Lord’s Word says to trust Him and Him alone.

I put my hope in the Lord.  This is a wake-up call.  As a nation we are sinning against the One True God.  Our morality is based on popular opinion.  It is time that as the meek and humble we share the glory of the Lord. “Therefore wait for me,” declares the Lord, “for the day I will stand up to testify.  I have decided to assemble the nations, to gather the kingdoms and to pour out my wrath on them-all my fierce anger.  The whole world will be consumed by the fire of my jealous anger.” “Then I will purify the lips of the peoples, that all of them may call on the name of the Lord and serve Him shoulder to shoulder.” Zephaniah 3:8-9

Our nation needs to be humbled so that we may seek the face of the Lord to guide us and strengthen us.  We are His alone.  He planned this moment in time.  His plan is in action.  Who are we to question His motives? I believe that we are in a time of refining.  We will be stripped of our haughty nature and brought to our knees in reverence for the Lord.

Take heart and be steadfast in the Lord.  He is sovereign and good and His kingdom shall have no end.  Take this time not to grieve, but to rejoice in the will of the Father. He has given us an opportunity to share brotherly love.  He is setting before us a bounty of opportunity to love thy neighbor as yourself.  This is a time that we who stand firm on the Word of the Lord must share the Good News without ceasing.  We must increase our faith and spread the message of the Lord’s grace and mercy.

We are created for a time such as this.  He knew that we would wake this morning with a foreboding spirit, and yet He offers His forgiveness. He heals our broken hearts and sets us on the firm, unshifting ground of Jesus.  Beloved, have hope, we serve an amazing God who makes beauty out of ashes.  He will not leave us or forsake us at this crossroad; He will strengthen us and give us new life.  He will cause us to love abundantly and well.  He will share His goodness with us so that we may share His hope with those who despair.

“You of little faith, why are you so afraid?” Matthew 8:26

Leave a Reply

