Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

A prayer for the weary…

on December 13, 2012

IMG_0007“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest in your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

A friend recently confided in me her distance from the Lord.  She is, in my mind, a very Godly woman.  However, over the past several months, she feels she is backsliding.  Her ability to humbly admit her troubles left me wondering about my own faith walk.
In the past several weeks…and perhaps months, I  have been rushing around serving people.  I have been doing a lot.  I have given a tremendous amount of time to organizing and planning and doing, all of which I thought I was doing unto the Lord.  I wasn’t…I haven’t.  I have been doing it for ‘man’.  I have been serving God’s people, but not God.  This leaves me feeling hallow and ashamed.  I have been so busy that I have lost sight of how I am to do everything unto the Lord.

So, as my sweet friend has confidently and transparently poured out her desires to be cemented deeply in the Lord, and her repentance of backsliding, she has helped me to see that, I too , have backslid.

I cried out to the Lord today and asked Him to fill me to overflowing with His grace and mercy and goodness.  I have petitioned Him with prayers of longing desire to serve Him and live in Him abundantly…again, dying to self to live fully in Him.

I will serve. I will serve Him.  If that means refraining from taking on tasks and agendas, then I will serve the Lord by being still.  I will wait on the Lord.  I feel He is leading me into a season of surrender.  I will, with Him, be obedient to the direction He has for my life at this time.  I will serve my family.  I will commit to becoming a Proverbs 31 woman. I will meditate daily on His mighty, life giving Word.

Father in Heaven,

I am Yours.  My heart cries out to You.  Fill me O Lord with Your righteousness.  I am seeking Your face, Father.  I am seeking to live abundantly in You, O God. Thy will be done, Father.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

