Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Today’s KPC devotional…

on December 29, 2012
Some kind of pine tree close

Some kind of pine tree close (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“But when the fullness of the time came, God sent forth His Son, born of a woman, born under the Law, . . .” Galatians 4:4

Take a moment and pray that the Lord will speak to you in this time of study.

Devotional written by Samantha Ewing

It’s December 29, and I’m getting edgy.  I’m a creature of habit, comfort and control…not to mention organization.  When I’m done with something, like a child, I am DONE.  I like to have order around me and that’s why, on this fourth day after Christmas, my eyes and mind see the chaos of green and red abounding from nearly every corner of my home, and I’m uneasy.  I’m ready to pack up Christmas.  But, in my packing of bells and snow globes, angels and bulbs, I am not packing up Jesus.  On the contrary, I am regaining focus on the One whose birth we celebrate this time each year.

“Remain in Me, and I will remain in you.” John 15:4

When the house is adorned in the richness of the season, my focus is easily averted from Christ to the shopping, hosting, and general merriment that this Yuletide brings.  I am consumed with the getting done and doing of Christmas rather than the reason, to celebrate and honor the birth of our Savior.  I’m lost in the packages and tins and baking.  I find myself crawling (exhausted) into bed each night, barely able to utter a word of thanks to the Lord.  This is why I need to take Christmas down and sit quietly and uncluttered with the Lord.

“Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” Mark 6:31

I am not a minimalist, but I do enjoy order, and I find that the more orderly things are around me, the greater my attention is on Jesus; I’m able to clear my mind and focus on Him.  I’m able to just be.  I long to be still in His presence.  He commands me,

“Be still and know that I am God…” Psalm 46:10

In the next few days, I’ll continue to enjoy the merriment of a bedecked and bejeweled home.  I’ll appreciate the joy of all my Christmas heirlooms and soak in the magic that each piece brings. I’ll tenderly pack up the nativity sets…or not.  Perhaps in an effort to enjoy Christmas a bit longer, I’ll keep the cast of that starry night in a place, where Christmas can be remembered daily.  Next week as the attic door closes, the tree goes to the Bay, and the Elf of the Shelf returns to his northern abode, I’ll sit quietly in an unadorned living room in the presence of the Light of the Lord…for He needs no adornment; He is perfectly beautiful without any embellishment.

“The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because He has anointed me…” Luke 4:18

Heavenly Father,
I sit in gratitude.  I am thankful for the gift of Jesus…the Babe in the manger.  I am eager to be with You, alone.  Father, I repent of my distraction and ask that You would fill me to overflowing with Your Holy Spirit. I am humbled by Your outpouring of love and joy.  Father, I ask for Your peace to fill my heart and my home as I take down the symbols of Advent and rest quietly in Your beauty.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Samantha Ewing

Leave a Reply

