Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Happy New Year…KPC Tuesday Devotional

on January 1, 2013

This Week’s Key Verses: John 3:16-17 “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved.”

Take a moment and pray that the Lord will speak to you in this time of study.

 

Baptism of Christ. Jesus is baptized in the Jo...

Baptism of Christ. Jesus is baptized in the Jordan River by John. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Show me Your ways, O Lord; teach me Your paths.” (Psalm 25:4)

As the year drew to an end, I reflected on how I’ve lived my life over the past twelve months.  I’ve had some stellar days and some days that I wish I could do over  And while the “do-over” days seem to be ablaze in neon letters, I‘m apt to learn from those more than the seemingly great days.  If I take inventory, I may see that many were spent running from the Lord instead of to Him.  That’s what happens when we live outside of God rather than in Him . . . our days are marred with human inequity.  He alone allows for our days to be laced in perfection…God-perfection, when we commit to rest in His grace.

He is perfect.

So, I reflect.  I had started the year with a bang.  Don’t we all?  I set out to live “A Year Without” . . .  a year without purchasing anything new and unnecessary. I committed to meditating daily on Galatians 5 (the fruit of the Spirit) and Romans 12.  I shot out of the gate with gusto.  I spent time fasting and humbling myself before the Lord.  I did this for about five months.  Diligent in my efforts, I could feel the Lord’s presence…He was palpable. “You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” (Psalm 16:11) When the Lord is so present that I can “feel His breath,” the world seems brighter. When I allow the Lord to be present, I can feel His strength pulsing through my body. There is a measure of confidence that allows me to traverse even the most harrowing trials. When I allow the Lord to fill me.  And I do.  I let Him in…for a time.  Then I stray. I often stray.

In my straying, I could justify new purchases.  I began scheduling God into my life instead of my life into His.  I became complacent and lost.  That’s what happens.  Like sheep that stray, we enter into dark and troubled territory, we become lost. Without God, we are so incapable of staying on course…on paths of righteousness.  He desires for us to be on the straight and narrow path.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

The remedy? Seek the path that keeps us looking toward the glow of His beautiful face, the path that helps us navigate the murky waters of this world.

“But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.  Peace I leave you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be trouble and do not be afraid.” (John 14:26-27)

And now, this first day of the New Year, I am full of hope.  I am full of the joy I feel on the first Sunday of the month when I take communion. The hope that I am free in Christ.  I am washed clean by His blood and born again to live in His delight and righteousness. “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” (2 Corinthians 5:1) I am full of a longing to do better…to be immersed in Him.  I am full of ambition…God-ambition.  I’m not setting lofting goals and resolutions.  I’m not promising to be a size 6 by February (while that would be nice). I am not committing to keeping a perfectly organized and dust free house. (Again, that sounds great!)  Nor am I committing to being anything other than what the Lord is calling me to be.  I will follow His lead.  I will take each day at a time.  I will wake to His presence.  I will commit to spending time with Him. I will wait on Him.

Father,
Thank you for new beginnings.  Thank you for giving us second and third and countless chances to follow Your lead.  Thank you for holding us close and drawing us near…even and mostly when we stray far from Your reach.  Thank you Lord for never forsaking us and always loving us.  I pray that we feel Your presence abundantly each moment of this new year.  Help us to turn to You and seek Your beautiful face. Thank you for loving us right where we are.

In Jesus’ name,  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

