Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

KPC’s Tuesday Devotional…Following Faithfully

on January 8, 2013

IMG_9423

This Week’s Key Verse: “And because of His glory and excellence, He has given us great and precious promises. These are the promises that enable you to share His divine nature and escape the world’s corruption caused by human desires.” 2 Peter 1:4

Take a moment and pray that the Lord will speak to you in this time of study.

We all walk lonesome.  We go through times in our lives when the road ahead seems long and ragged and too difficult to walk.  We also have times of pure bliss and elation, and the road seems smooth and bright.  On both paths we need God.  We need Him, because He orders our steps and puts us on the paths that will bring us closest to Him. Close to Him is where my heart longs to be.

“Guard my life, for I am devoted to You.  You are my God; save Your servant who trusts in You.” Psalm 86:2

I found Pastor Neil’s sermon on Sunday, “Walking with God into 2013,” to be exactly what I needed to hear these first few days of the New Year. God is good.  He often gives others the words we need to hear so that we can make sense of our relationship with Him.  On our own, we don’t always listen to God; we don’t always pay attention to what our Creator is whispering into our spirits, so we need faithful servants to share His message.  I felt that way on Sunday.

Pastor Neil gave us a brief list to use as a guide in our walk with the Lord. I offer what I gleaned from his sermon and how this list impacts my heart.

  1. Learn and trust in the promises of God.
    As difficult and “human” as it is to trust, it is essential to our walk with the Lord that we know all His promises are true. We may not understand, or even like, some of His decisions, but we are hopeful that He has made promises that will sustain us for eternity.  He uses all our circumstances to draw us near to Him. Sometimes we need to stand in the face of heartache and pain to fully understand His sovereignty. Through our trials we learn to be steadfast in the Lord, offering Him praise and thanksgiving for everything . . . even when “everything” seems crushing and too difficult to bear. In the midst of our darkness, He is the perfect light, guiding and steering us toward His righteousness. “For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11
  2. Walk with the Lord one day at a time.
    I was raised by a well-meaning mother, yet she was tormented by an addiction to alcohol and “one day at a time” seemed to be the mantra of our family.  So I learned from a young age to take one day at a time; however, not until the past few years has this meant being in the Lord one day at a time. It gives me hope.  He knows my days, He has them numbered.  I have wasted so much precious time worrying about what tomorrow may bring. I have spent sleepless nights wondering and ”what if-ing” the circumstances of my life. Oftentimes the things I worried over would come to pass.  I repent of the times that my tendency to plan and organize my life has gotten in the way of the Lord’s plans. “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving present your requests to God.” Philippians 4:6  He is perfect and all knowing.  When I rest in today and live out the hours of right now, I am peaceful and secure.  When I understand that tomorrow will take care of itself, I rest assured that the Lord has my heart knitted closely to His.  He has created me for today.  I must trust that tomorrow, whatever it brings, will be shrouded in His grace and mercy.
  3. Take hold of the Lord’s hand.
    O to hold the hand of God!  I love sitting quietly, just the two of us, holding His mighty hand.  I imagine myself sitting in the middle of the hand that holds heaven and earth.  I sit there and gaze at Him, seeking to hear His heart.  When I am still and quiet before the Lord, I feel His presence real.  He is upon me and in me and covering me with His breath.  I used to save this time for when I would find refuge in my prayer closet.  There were days I would wait to get my chores done, my busy-ness done, my children settled, and I would enter into my prayer closet to seek Him and feel His presence. “Remain in Me and I will remain in you.” John 15:4 I suppose I felt that everything around me had to be just right to hold Him near. Not anymore.  Now I know that I may reach an empty hand to Him at any moment, and He will fill it with His amazing grace and guidance.
  4. Take time to write down what God is doing in your life. 
    To this I say a resounding “AMEN.”  But I am a writer and that is where I seek God, so for someone who uses the written word to worship, it comes naturally.  Yet, even if you aren’t a writer, or seem to loathe writing, it is a practice worth trying.  I have intermittently kept prayer journals.  I have written my prayers and the prayers of others down.  As I have gone back to read what I have petitioned the Lord, I am always amazed and awed to see His hand guiding all circumstances.  Writing to the Lord or about the Lord gives me a tangible means to be reminded (when I am hollow and wanting spiritually) of how great He is and how He never leaves or forsakes me but rather is my Compass and my Shepherd through all of life.

Your walk with the Lord is a rich journey.  He created you for distinct and perfect purpose, just as He has created your circumstances for the same.  Trust in Him.  Allow Him to guide you.  He will set your feet on a path directly to His heart.

“Glory in His holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice.  Look to the Lord and His strength; seek His face always.” Psalm 105:3-4

Be blessed and be a blessing!

 

http://www.kpc.org

Leave a Reply

