Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

His Grace Will Fill You Peacefully…

on May 1, 2013
Template elf

Template elf (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Nighttime meets us with rambling thoughts of ‘what ifs’ and ‘how comes’ and ‘if onlys’. These thoughts enter our mind like elves in the cobblers shop. Working away, instead of fixing, but undoing all the peace and joy of a day. Nighttime brings about that ‘my problems are so large’ feeling. The feeling that creates fear and doubt. I have entertained these elves for a lifetime of nights.  I have spent sleepless hours questioning my purpose and my motives. I thank God for being bigger than my thoughts.

In those deep hours of slumber my mind begins to recount the words I have spoken, the actions I have taken, the thoughts I have. But…just as my focus sharpens on the wrong, the Lord reminds me of the good. He whispers gently in my heart that I have done, in my human condition, much to delight Him. He reminds me of how I have served and loved and encouraged. He gives me a new and joyful perspective. He clears away the doubt and fear and anxiety and lets me rest peacefully in His grace.

That’s what it is…Grace.

When we long to be filled with the Amazing Grace of the Lord, then we are positioning ourselves against attack from the ‘what ifs’ and ‘if onlys’. We are living each day abundantly in His sight. He gives us armor to defend ourselves from lies and deceit from the enemy. Our days are laced in His goodness when we cry out for His mercy and love.

In those deep dark corners of the night when your mind starts to wonder and wander…I urge you to pray the prayer our Lord and Savior plainly taught us….

Our Father who art in Heaven, hallowed be your name. (You are Holy and above all, Creator of all things good…including me.)

Your kingdom come. Your will be done on earth as it is in Heaven. (Help me, Father to be a servant of your mercy and grace.)

Give us this day our daily breath and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. (Thank you for provision and forgiveness and the ability to love through Your Son, Jesus Christ.)

Lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil. (Help me, Father, to possess sound judgment and to walk away from that which makes me stumble.)

For Thine is the kingdom and power and the glory forever. Amen. (I am Yours, now and forever. Amen.)

Leave a Reply

