Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Love and learn…

on May 3, 2013
Love Story

Love Story (Photo credit: JeremyHall)

I saw a sweet, kindred spirit yesterday. She and I have not known each other long, or really all that well, but our hearts are knitted together in a deep love and faith in the Lord. We long to be in the arms of Jesus, we know that He holds us tight and secure.

My friend and I were talking about our fallen, human-condition. She encouraged me and told me that I am blessing. I have a light about me. I appreciated her compliment and can attribute it to only one thing…Jesus. He fills me each day with His amazing grace. He sets me on the Rock that is His Word. To all of my sweet friend’s compliments I replied, “Oh, I am broken.” Aren’t we all? Truly, until we are in the Throne of God in His heavenly kingdom, we will remain broken. But, not unfixable.

My friend shared with me that we are here on earth for two purposes…to love and learn. I agree.

I try with all my might to love well. Even the unlovable. Because that’s what Jesus did. He loved. He may not have always liked or approved of what those He loved were doing, but He loved. I want to be like that. I pray that each day He fills me with the Fruit of His Spirit. Love, being the bowl, cradles all of the other Fruit so tenderly.  When I love I am filled with peace and patience. When I love, I am joyful and kind. I am able to speak gentle words and set my sights on the goodness of the Lord. In loving, my faith increases and I feel the presence of our Lord settling deep into my heart. Most of all, love helps me to be self-controlled. It helps me to resist temptation. When I feel tempted to be unkind or filled with strife, love bubbles out and extinguishes my desires to be anything but a servant of the Lord’s peace.

I am learning. Each day is filled with immeasurable opportunities to learn. We are created to glean wisdom and knowledge. We are created to learn the Word of God…and It’s mighty power to keep us on the straight and narrow path to His heart. I don’t always like the learning process, often times it is difficult and refining. More often than not, it draws me away from what my heart desires, but in the end, through the uncomfortable growing pains, I become wiser in the Lord’s desire for my life.

“So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall. No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear.  But when you are tempted, He will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.” 1Corinthians10:12,13

I will be grateful in my brokenness. I will rejoice when the Lord corrects me and turns my heart from the things of this world to Him. I will bask in thanksgiving when the path I am on seems rocky and I become weary and worn. But, He takes my tired and nearly extinguished self and makes me bright and new…a new creation in His amazing grace.

Leave a Reply

