Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

His Hope and Glory…

on May 21, 2013

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”  Romans 15:13

Plate I from Charles Darwin's The Expression o...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have been known to run between two emotions: hope and despair. I like to think of myself as an optimist seeing life in hues of rose; drinking from only half full cups; but that is not true. Oftentimes, I find myself under a singular dark cloud. It’s my attitude about my circumstances that causes me to wander through life a bit drenched. Truly, it’s not a spiritual attack or assault. It is purely of my flesh. I can cling to suffering, boasting in its stronghold, with the best of pessimists.

“Therefore, as it is written: “Let him who boasts boast in the Lord.”” 1Corinthians1:31

Ah…let me boast in the Lord, and not my suffering.

I need to be reminded of this. I need this to be the cloud above my head.  Remembering to boast only in the Lord. Remembering that every good and perfect gift is from His hand alone. And while suffering is part of this life, as we are promised in 1Peter. Suffering should not be what defines life. Our walk with Jesus is what defines our life.

When I am walking tall in the hope and joy of the Lord I am assured that I will not let suffering overcome me. I (try) to purpose in my heart (in times of joyful hope) that no matter what the affliction, I will be filled with peace in the face of suffering. I will skip through trial. I purpose this until the suffering comes.

Recently I waged a battle of inner suffering. The voice of doubt and despair started to sink deep into my spirit. I was, for a while, filled with anger and frustration. I couldn’t reach God’s hand. He was there, but that glass ceiling, Nancy Klein spoke of, was keeping me from touching my Lord. I could see Him and knew He could see me, but I was so concentrated on my trial, that I stayed hidden (on my own accord) form His healing touch. From His promise of glory and victory over the trial.  I tried to wage a battle on my own, in the flesh. I took an ‘I’ve got this one’ approach…but really we never ‘have it’, we can only be victorious with His armor. Our armor against suffering is soft and weak and broken.

I had to surrender my suffering to Him. I had to nail it to the cross. I had to accept that whatever battle I was waging was going to bring amazing God-glory. I had to purpose in my heart that no matter how frustrated, or worn I felt, God was going to see me through this trial as He has carried me through every trial…and will continue to do so. As I began letting go of my anger and despair, I could feel the Lord’s hand in mine. Actually I could feel His hand on my heart. I was allowing Him to fill me with hope and joy.

“Though you do not now see Him, you believe in Him and rejoice with joy that is inexpressible and filled with glory, obtaining the outcome of your faith, the salvation of your souls.” 1Peter1:8,9

Be encouraged, Beloved, the Lord is abundant in His hope and glory for your precious life!


Leave a comment